Android head unit - recomend me one (do they have wireless Android Auto?)

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by bwiencek, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. bwiencek

    bwiencek Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    16
    8
    9
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    After spending time on Ali Express, eBay and Amazon there are way too many options and 'manufacturers' of these android (and some win CE) head units and I know several here have run them so I'm looking for recommendations on which unit(s) are decent.

    The car is a 2010 Prius II with the standard radio (no nav/jbl) - I'm probably going to upgrade the speakers too eventually

    Here's what I'd like it to do / have:
    • Moderately recent Android operating system (7.x or 8.x ?)
    • Fairly fast startup time
    • Steering wheel controls working
    • "fast" reverse camera activation (from reading some units have this ability? I know I'll have to install the camera too)
    • be "plug and play" wiring (I'm guessing I'll need the extra cable to keep factory USB?)
    • have an OK reliability
    • support for wireless android auto (maybe need to hack this one - has anyone had success doing that?)

    Some other things that I'm not sure I need or even care about...
    • be rooted or root-able (maybe to assist with getting wireless android auto working??)
    • How much RAM and flash - at least 2gb ram maybe 4gb?

    Any links to units that people have purchased that work well and fit the bill would be greatly appreciated! Also any "names" of units to avoid or have been problematic.

    Here's ones I found... (if they have options - 4GB RAM and 32GB ROM with Octa-Core processor)

    Kunfine - $317 - 4g/32g octa-core - somewhat leaning towards this one?
    or this Kunfine one (same spec but comes FedEx?) $321
    FLTONBOO - $319 - 2gb/16gb quad? map & camera included?
    $367 delivered unit 4g/32g octa
    $314 - 4g/32g, octacore (info is contradicting some of the options?)

    Any opinions on those?
     
  2. kc5dlo

    kc5dlo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    226
    149
    0
    Location:
    DFW TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I am on my third android unit in my Prius. First one the screen got dim to the point it was difficult to see. Second one locked up and would not do anything. It was just under 1 year and fell under the warranty. Seller asked me to ship it back to China and they would repair or replace. I bought another one planning to send the bricked unit in but got busy and forgot to.

    Get the latest operating system in your price range. To me, adding a large chunk of money to get one level newer operating system is just not worth it. I have an Android unit in a Suburban that is 5.x and have had no problems with it or any apps not working.

    Start up time cold is usually 30 seconds or less. After installation you can go into the settings and change the power off time to up to 2 hours. Doing this, the unit goes into stand by mode and getting back into the car after stopping for gas or a meal, the unit starts up instantly. Only caveat is that usually only the app thats on top being displayed will restart automatically. Radio always restarts if it was on when stopped regardless if was not on top or not. Back up camera is instant on all I have seen.

    Steering wheel controls on left side of the wheel can be set up in the settings. You can remap or select from the menu what function the buttons do.

    As I said before, The back up camera starts as soon as the car goes into reverse. I had to install an aftermarket camera as the factory camera is 6 volts. I understand now it is possible to get a unit that will work with the factory 6 volt camera. Since you have a II, You do not have the factory camera. The camera I purchased is a direct replacement for a factory camera and fit in the same location.

    Very much Plug and Play for the most part. An adapter for the radio antenna is needed. You will need to tap into the positive wire to a reverse light to get power for the reverse camera. The power wire runs beside the video output of the camera and is spliced into one of the Aux, video input wires on the unit. Some people have mounted the magnetic GPS antenna on the metal framework under the dash. I tried that and it worked but I was much happier with the GPS antenna on the corner of the dash on the passenger side.

    Not sure what you mean by "Wireless android auto" I can set it up to mirror the screen of my phone but I prefer to run the head unit on it's own with a hot spot from my phone.

    I have never rooted any units. There is a forum XDA Developers that has a subforum for auto android units. Much more detail available there.

    Get as much RAM as possible. None of the units I have had have had much storage space. The more the better.

    A tip I would like to add is there is an extended settings area that is accessed with a 4 or 6 digit password usually. In those setting you can select the country your radio is in. Default is something that makes tuning difficult.
    Another tip is pull out the factory head unit and take a picture of the back of it. When you get ready to purchase, the seller may want a picture of it to make sure they send the right harness.

    In my opinion all the units out of China are very similar and likely assembled from the same baskets of parts. Find a seller that is not contradicting in their descriptions. Usually they are very helpful and eager to answer any questions you may have thru email.



    Good luck!
     
  3. bwiencek

    bwiencek Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    16
    8
    9
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    OK - so the antenna connector isn't in the harness bundle they include - that's good to know - will have to order up an adapter when I place the order.

    As for "Wireless Android Auto" - it's the same old android auto with screen mirroring, etc. but it happens without plugging the phone in - the head unit creates a wireless access point the phone connects to and it the uses the "wifi" connection instead of the cable. I found a quick article here: How Android Auto Wireless Works - if they have wifi built in then usually they can be set to broadcast a wireless network (just like your phone can do hotspot)

    Thanks for the feedback - I'll have to wait to order until I have time to pull the unit out and take pics if that's what they need....
     
  4. gooberq

    gooberq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hi im looking for a audio receiver for 2010 model , can you let me know which unit you bought ? TIA
     
  5. bwiencek

    bwiencek Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    16
    8
    9
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I haven't bought one yet as I was hoping some others here might pitch in with the exact models that they've bought (plus it's been freezing out here and I'm not super motivated to go out in the garage and tear into it right now...) I'll probably order in a week or so regardless.
     
  6. gooberq

    gooberq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Thanks !! i will update this thread if i order , i thought i missed a deal on Sony XAV-AX5000 from Fry's but the options you listed are good.
     
  7. kc5dlo

    kc5dlo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    226
    149
    0
    Location:
    DFW TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It has been a while since i bought my last one. I suggest asking a question to each of the sellers and go with the one with answer you feel most comfortable with. If you have any problems with the one you purchase, the seller is the one you will contact for help. If they don't have time for you before the sale, they certainly wont have time for you after the sale.
     
  8. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    305
    184
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I am rocking of the KLD MTDE Android head unit with 4gm Ram and 32gb storage. I have a custom rom with modded sound DSP sound processing. check out xda under Android auto for info and ROMs. MTCD Software Development


    PH-1 ?
     
    kc5dlo likes this.
  9. gooberq

    gooberq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Where did you buy the unit ? Can you send a link
     
  10. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    305
    184
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
  11. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    305
    184
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    here is the unit I have IMG_20190206_204812.jpg

    PH-1 ?
     
    bluhawk and gooberq like this.
  12. gooberq

    gooberq New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Wow nice, do you use Android, can you wirelessly connect your phone to the unit, ? going to remove the current unit and take photos and send it to the seller, chinese new year and they are slow in responding.
     
  13. bluhawk

    bluhawk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    14
    31
    10
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    II
    looks nice. Did you have to install the mic and aftermarket camera? To me those are the my main concerns. I always get calls so I am wondering how the quality is compared with the stock mic. Also for the backup camera, did you use the oem one or had to buy an aftermarket one? I have a 2015 prius II with factory back up camera and been wanting to upgrade the HU to android.Thanks
     
  14. bluhawk

    bluhawk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    14
    31
    10
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Here is the youtube link from the aliexpress store he posted,
    http:// https://youtu.be/3mxtgP5WaGs looks like it does. I know the HU in the video is different, but functions maybe the same.
     
    gooberq likes this.
  15. kc5dlo

    kc5dlo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    226
    149
    0
    Location:
    DFW TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    They all come with a cheap remote mic. In my opinion, the mic on the face of the radio works better. You would probably do better by purchasing a good quality aftermarket remote mic and experimenting with the placement. Perhaps you could tap into the factory mic? It seemed to do very well as I recall.
     
  16. bluhawk

    bluhawk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    14
    31
    10
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Yeah that's the one he posted.

    I see hmmm dilema dilema....
     
  17. 04priusnow

    04priusnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    305
    184
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    yeah the mic that comes with it is low quality. but it connects with 1/8" mono plug so it's easy to upgrade. it runs Android 8.0 and has mirroring capability. I bought a generic backup camera that supposed to fit in the factory knockout. I believe it's the same for a Camry. I haven't installed yet since I heard its a pain to run the cabling . maybe once it warms up I will attempt. the unit sleeps like your phone does.. so turning the car on starts the unit up in a second or two. oh and if you get one an after removing the plastic screen protector it ships with and notice scratching on the screen . Don't worry there is another piece of plastic like protector on the screen. I disassembled the unit and found it thinking it was something worse. I'm sure you wouldn't need to go to such extremes. Just scratch at it and pull it off.

    PH-1 ?
     
  18. kc5dlo

    kc5dlo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    226
    149
    0
    Location:
    DFW TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    When i installed my camera, it turned out to go faster than i thought it would. A few pieces of trim needed to be removed on the inside of the rear hatch. I used a large Ty-wrap about 18 inches long to feed the cable thru the headliner to the driver side back door. Then it was super easy to tuck it behind the trim and take it to the floor and tuck it under the sills at the doors and back up under the dash.
     
    gooberq likes this.
  19. Anil kumar

    Anil kumar Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    18
    4
    0
    Location:
    United kingdom birmingham
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm also looking for a unit for my 2010 prius but don't want to lose stering wheel controls sicane had a unit but it's not listed on there site now I need a RHD unit
     
Loading...