1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Android tablet experts?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by bwilson4web, Nov 21, 2019.

1. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus

My "Scan My Tesla" package arrived this week but I have no experience with Android tablets. The only requirements I'm thinking about:
    • Most recent Bluetooth version - for full speed CANBUS traffic
    • Small enough to fit in center section or mounted on sun screen or by driver side, "A" pillar
    • Reasonably recent Android version (want to avoid Amazon limits)
      • Do the tablet makers release an Android version unique to their hardware?
    • Large, 128 GB, SD card capable
    For storage, are Android tablets tolerant of wide temperature variations as found in a car?

Suggestions on Android tablet mounts (i.e., photos would help)?

Right now, I'm thinking of Costco or Best Buy because of their reasonable return policies. Walmart is possible but not high on my preferred list. Given Amazon seems to 'corral' their software, I'm not impressed ... open source should be open to any software store.

With Black Friday coming next week, preliminary 'window shopping' suggests ~$140 or less. Are there any "do not touch" models to avoid?

Thanks,
    Bob Wilson

2. LewLasher

LewLasher Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    XLE AWD-e
    BestBuy has the Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8" for $120. Runs Android version 9 (10 is the most recent), Bluetooth version 4.2. Takes SD card to supplement built-in 32 Gb storage.

bwilson4web likes this.
  3. LewLasher

LewLasher Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    XLE AWD-e
    Avoid Amazon Fire tablets. They are based on Android, but are significantly different from standard Android.

bwilson4web likes this.
  4. Salamander_King

Salamander_King Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A