Any Singapore 2016 Prius owners in here??

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Prius_noob18888, May 18, 2016.

  1. Prius_noob18888

    Prius_noob18888 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    44
    39
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    collecting my red Prius in June and was told by the dealer that it comes with a JBL 8-speaker system with no Nav support.
    Reason being that "it does not support navigation". Duh.
    No details given. I am guessing Entune is not available to Toyota owners in Singapore. I could be wrong though.

    Anyway, I plan to get a Pioneer HU with integrated Nav and Apple Carplay support
    I was wondering if replacing the stock HU will interfere with any of the Prius software that is currently fed to it.

    Any advice? Thanks!
     
  2. JohnF

    JohnF Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    497
    421
    0
    Location:
    Essex, CT
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    nismo502 is in Singapore and shares your pain, see this thread:

    Prius Headunit | PriusChat
     
  3. booke02

    booke02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    381
    386
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    We have a similar problem in Israel - Toyota don't offer a navigation package. But I believe that you add a GPS/NAV unit onto the back of the standard Toyota head unit that will support any Android/Linux based navigation software, such as Waze, iGo, Sygic, etc. The advantage is that you keep the standard Toyota head unit, without losing any of the standard built-in features.
     
  4. JohnF

    JohnF Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    497
    421
    0
    Location:
    Essex, CT
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I continue to be mystified why people don't just clip their smartphone to the dash and use Waze or whatever on it for navigation, use its screen for control and map display, and bluetooth the audio to the sound system? Data usage is the only reason I can think of. Doesn't the Toyota's NAV system use data or is it delivered some other way? Does the Toyota NAV utilize traffic info for routing?
     
    #4 JohnF, May 18, 2016
    Last edited: May 18, 2016
  5. booke02

    booke02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    381
    386
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have used all three options - dedicated navigation device (TomTom), app on phone (Waze), and built-in head/navigation unit. The last option is the least hassle. Turn on the car, and navigation system is ready to go. No problem waiting for phone to acquire satellites, don't have to make sure that you turn off GPS when you finish the trip (otherwise it eats up the phone battery), no messing about connecting USB cable (otherwise you wont have much battery left at the end of the trip). And you always get an incoming phone call just as you get to the most complicated part of the journey.

    I would always choose a built-in unit for the convenience!
     
  6. Prius_noob18888

    Prius_noob18888 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    44
    39
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    booke02, you took the words right out of my mouth
    i am used to having a built-in nav system so its so convenient
     
  7. Prius_noob18888

    Prius_noob18888 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    44
    39
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks, JohnF.
    I will reached out to nismo502. I believe his ride was purchased via a parallel importer and not from the local dealer.
    Different specs but worth a try
     
  8. JohnF

    JohnF Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    497
    421
    0
    Location:
    Essex, CT
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Convenience comes at a price. To get Entune with Nav, one would have to move from the Model 2 ECO ($24,700) up to the Model 3 ($26,250), an upcharge of $1550. Granted one gets other stuff with that, but I'm perfectly happy with the Model 2 ECO's features as it is and $1550 in my pocket.

    Not sure what you mean about acquiring satellites, the Maps app on my iPhone 6 gives me a route within a few seconds. Ditto with battery and GPS, battery life is fine for me without shutting down the app. I leave a cable plugged into the car outlet so charging is the same as at home, just plug the phone in, no hassle, and slap it onto the magnet mount. I'm going to put the phone in the car anyway, and may want to charge it even if I'm just making some calls. Handling incoming phone calls while getting directions will be a problem no matter what system you use. So I'm still mystified.

    The phone gives me the conveniences of being able to choose which app I want to use for navigation, being able to set up a trip at home before I leave, and having all my contacts at my fingertips without having them loaded into Entune (and exposed to anyone else using the car).

    But hey, everybody has their own priorities (and financial resources) so different people will do things different ways.
     
    #8 JohnF, May 18, 2016
    Last edited: May 18, 2016
  9. nismo502

    nismo502 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yeah, mine was off a parallel importer. Comes with Modellista kit, sunroof, toyota sense and the works. I asked for no headunit so I can explore better options. The japanese oem hu wouldnt work for radio anyway.

    My car should be on the road in July, do let me know if you have the headunit questions figured out and vice versa :)
     
Loading...