1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Any solutions to outside condensation?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by DNAgent, Apr 1, 2012.

1. DNAgent

DNAgent Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie, so go easy on me. :) I'm having a lot of problems with outside condensation, especially on the driver and passenger side windows, with the outside humidity here in Louisiana being quite high. (It gets to the point of making driving unsafe, because I can't see except through where the wipers clear it on the front windshield.) I don't understand why rolling the windows down apparently doesn't wipe it off, every car I've ever had before this did that.

Has anyone found any good solution to this? Rain-X or replacement gaskets for the windows?

And yes, I searched the forum first, all I found was references to having to physically wipe down the windows each time, which gets old really fast!

2. spiderman

spiderman wretched

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Wow, that must some serious humidity. AI would think Rain-X would do good in that situation. It may adhere but as soon as the air flowed over the windows, it should clear quickly.

3. Corwyn

Corwyn Energy Curmudgeon

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Warm the car windows up. Condensation occurs when some solid is colder than the dew point of the surrounding air.

4. HaveNoCents

HaveNoCents Conservative Tree Hugger

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I have the same problem with the passenger windows on the beach here in Texas. I leave a rag in the car so I can wipe the windows when needed. I'm also getting moisture on the inside of the glass of the navigation system on humid days.

iPad ?

5. The Electric Me

The Electric Me Go Speed Go!

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Move to Oregon?