1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Apple + Toyota Partnership for Systems Integration

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by Saguache, Dec 24, 2014.

1. Saguache

Saguache Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I worked for a major Northwestern software concern for thirteen years and when I left that career path to make my own way as a writer I decided that I also wanted to leave that particular software environment. My wife, a long time apple user and software developer, has enjoyed their unparalleled quality so when it came time to choose I chose Apple.

Our Prius v is the second hybrid we've owned from the company. The advances in the electronics and audio systems are nice, but it appears that Toyota on the whole isn't really keeping up with the rest of the world. The funny thing is that this is an area where they could offer so much with only minimal design tweaks from their existing platform. Right now it drives me nuts when I press the call button and I get the car's voice recognition software instead of Siri. Entune is a feature barren let down in my opinion and they should scrap it as soon as possible. What should be a value add piece of integration software appears to me little more than a kluge which somehow manages to crash.

So I'm calling for these two companies, both leaders in their industry, to spend some time together. Seriously, I should be able to open my car with my phone, start it from my laptop, and play any and all music from the dash. As is evidenced by the caution screens that pop up every time I try to use the onboard navigation software Toyota has a lot to learn about usability.

miscrms likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    me too, but toyota probably doesn't want to pay apple prices.

3. jdenenberg

jdenenberg EE Professor

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius