Are TPMS sensors different on 2013 vs 2017 Prius v?

Discussion in 'Prius v Technical Discussion' started by gromittoo, Apr 18, 2022.

Tags:
  1. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    708
    261
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I own two Prius v's. One is a 2013 two, and the other is a 2017 four. For reasons that are complicated, I swapped the two rear wheels from each car with the other. I used Techstream TPMS live datalist to note the IDs and by changing the tire pressure, match the IDs to each wheel.

    I went to reset the TPMS IDs in the TPMS module in the two cars to match the swapped wheels, and I discovered some weird things:

    1) I did the 2013 reset first. I get 5 minutes to enter each sensor's ID one at a time. I do this carefully. I get a communication error at the end. Now the TPMS data list shows the correctly entered TPMS IDs, but no live data associated with the IDs for the two wheels that were on the 2017. The TPMS error light is on. Not what I expected. I double checked that the IDS were correct.

    2) Next I did the 2017 reset. The TPMS set ID Utility in Techstream is different for the 2017.
    The way it works on the 2013:
    - Enter the first ID.. press next ...
    - Enter the second ID.. press next ...
    - Enter the third ID.. press next ...
    - Enter the fourth ID.. press next ...
    - done.
    On the 2017, I get a dialog that shows 4 textboxes to enter the 4 IDs. The current ID values are already loaded into the textboxes. I carefully overwrite the old IDs with the new IDs, and I get a communication error when I press next. When I look at the datalist, the IDs are still the original values. Since the 2013 is parked next to the 2017, there is live pressure and temperature data for all four wheels, even though two of the wheels are on a different car. Tomorrow, when my wife takes the 2017 to work, I expect the TPMS system will detect the missing wheels, and turn on the TPMS light.

    My thinking is that the TPMS system on the 2017 is incompatible with the 2013, even though the wheels are otherwise identical. I can post screen captures, and error codes if that would help.

    If the two systems are incompatible, that means the two spare wheels I have can only be used on the 2013. That would make me unhappy. I like having a "full sized spare" at home, so I can swap out the donut tire if I get a flat. I can't Uber with a donut on the car.
     
  2. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,761
    842
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Dorman Products Website lists the exact same sensor for both. Either there was a user error or problem/glitch with the Techstream you are using...

    Or maybe bring too close to each other may cause a problem...

    (Just a couple of ideas)...

    REVVL V+ 5G ?
     
  3. Georgina Rudkus

    Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    2,396
    1,671
    0
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    The 2017 may have a part number that superseded the original 2013 part as does the Dorman. While the new part numbers may be backward compatible to function on the 2013 car, the 2013 TPMS module might not be forward compatible to function on the 2017 Prius v.
     
    #3 Georgina Rudkus, Apr 18, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2022
    gromittoo likes this.
  4. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    708
    261
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    So far I am seeing total incompatibility:

    2017 TPMS on a 2013: Sensor communication failure.

    2013 TPMS on a 2017: Sensor ID not even accepted (immediately rejected when I press next).

    Also: why does the same version of Techstream software on the same laptop act differently on the two cars? The Techstream user interface is quite different on the two cars. Suggests to me two different communication standards.

    I noticed that the first 4 digits of the 2017 TPMS IDs match, and only the last 3 digits are different. The 2013 TPMS IDs are quite random.

    Here are the before screenshots. Note how the fields that are missing or different. "ID Transmission Status" and "ID Battery Voltage" only appear on the 2013) :

    Note: I didn't take after screenshots, yet.
    TireMonitor2017Prius.jpg TireMonitor2013Prius.jpg
     
    Georgina Rudkus likes this.
  5. Georgina Rudkus

    Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    2,396
    1,671
    0
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    As I stated before, the current newer 2017 TPMS ECU is not capable of activating the older 2013 era TPMS transmitters.

    Such incompatibility happens with many computerized systems. Unfortunate.
     
  6. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,761
    842
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I wonder how fast you can enter the IDs? Or maybe you know someone that types fast? It sounds like a time-out maybe 5 minutes is too long. Try to finish in 4 minutes. If that doesn't work try 3 minutes.....

    REVVL V+ 5G ?
     
  7. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    708
    261
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I misunderstood what @Georgina Rudkus meant. She is saying that the 2017 TPMS ECU can't support 2013 TPMS sensors. That would explain the very different user interface in Techstream. I don't know how the ECU + Techstream is able to instantly determine the lack of compatibility, and not even try to connect to an incompatible sensor. Could the TPMS ID need to begin with "218xxxx"?

    In any event, I will need to swap the wheels back. The 2013 must get its safety inspection this month, and a TPMS light might cause the car to fail.

    I will do what I should have done to begin with: buy 2 new tires mounted on 2013 rims, and undo the swap. I might want to upgrade the TPMS sensors to the new version at the same time, so that those new tires can be used on the 2017 in the future. I hate Toyota's implementation of TPMS.
     
    Georgina Rudkus likes this.
  8. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,761
    842
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I saw something in picture 2 that may be a concern. There are listed "2" DTCs. I would suggest clearing them and trying to program them again.

    (I'm pretty sure on my Foxwell NT510 Elite I timed out on my first try).

    REVVL V+ 5G ?
     
Loading...