1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Armrest trim install- Better results next time.........

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by Montgomery, Oct 4, 2016.

1. Montgomery

Montgomery Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Well, let me say, my attempt at layering leather over the armrest on the doors was adequate. As a result, I will post pictures and make the following suggestions for those who wish to attempt this as well:

It is my opinion that after removing the armrest insert, that you use the armrest insert as a template. Press in the arm area so that it is flush with the insert and draw your template. The end result of the cut must be as close to the original fabric as possible, otherwise you will be seriously frustrated. Why? because any extra material gets in the way of putting it back in. And cutting while gluing for me was a joke. Hey, I'm an amateur at this anyway!

Removing the melted rivets? A complete disaster for me! Wound up using my biggest straight edge screw driver and a hammer!

The recommended screws and washer was spot on! You will need them for the re-installation.

And lastly, If you do the above, it actually is better to use a fast acting glue. Something fast, tacky and strong. The glue recommended takes too long to stick, and as you try to affix one area, the other area slides free. It would be easier to just start from the center of the insert and work your way out, smoothing the leather as you go till you get to the edges. Then all you have to do is trim the edges and your done.

Anyone ever burn your arm or hand on the lower level door light?....................LoL

So, here is my sloppy first attempt-

Attached Files:

2. tankyuong

tankyuong Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    II
    You can use a heat gun to worry the crinkles out

3. Montgomery

Montgomery Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius