1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

At what temperatures can I expect gas bladder silliness?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by brightlights, Sep 10, 2016.

1. brightlights

brightlights Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    TL;DR: My arithmetic MPG is 62, my MFD is 55.4, and I am skeptical. At an average daily ambient temp of 85 degrees in the last week (compared to 72 when I last filled up,) how much can I trust that the quantity needed to "fill" the gas bladder actually filled it up?

Long version, with answers to question list in quotes at bottom:

91k 2008 model, I've had it for two and a half weeks so I'm still learning. Drove it home from the dealer with less than half a tank, and when I filled up, put in 8.4 gallons. My first full tank, went 390 miles and again filled up with 8.4 gallons. Arithmetic average was 47 MPG (I hadn't reset the MFD display for this tank.) I filled up the tank when it was about 73 degrees outside. I then drove another 390 miles, over which the MFD gave me an average 55.5 MPG. The gas pump clicked off at 6.262 gallons, which the gauge read as full. This gives me an arithmetic average of 62 MPG. The last week has been quite warm with daily highs around 95 and nights in the low 70's.

I would expect my arithmetic average to be lower than the MFD- I understand the display to be optimistic. That said, I also wouldn't expect the bladder to be constricted at these temperatures. As I'm learning the car, I'm trying to get a good feel for my actual MPG, not only to learn to drive more efficiently but also to be able to make sensible decisions about when to fuel up come wintertime when I can expect the gas bladder to be constricted and the gauge to be questionable. What are the odds that that 6.2 gallons I put in today actually filled me up, or to put this another way, am I right to be skeptical of the arithmetic average?

2. wjtracy