Attn: ScanGauge II Owners! Individual tire TPMS data!

Discussion in 'Prius OBDII Third-Party Apps' started by Mark57, Oct 25, 2017.

  1. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    All, I'm a longtime Prius and hybrid owner and I also off road Toyota 4Runners for just as many years. I'm very active in both areas and like to get the most from all my vehicles. Yesterday, I found out the wonderful folks at ScanGauge (Linear Logic) have figured out how to display the individual tire pressures for 4Runners from the OEM TPMS info. They are in the testing phase and were asking for people on a 4Runner forum I frequent to test for free.

    I immediately thought of the Prius group here and asked if they would be interested in including the hard core crazies (and others) ;) here on PriusChat in their test. James DeLong is the engineer that worked on the Toyota TPMS XGauges and he said YES!

    First you must own a ScanGuage II. This is still in test mode and there may be bugs. It's a firmware flash with extra TPMS code attached to it. If you have any customized stuff on your ScanGuage II, it will be overwritten when they add the new flash. It works great on the ones I've seen.

    Here's the deal. The fine people at ScanGauge would like to extend the offer to certain (see who below) Prius ScanGauge II owners to send in their ScanGauge II and get the software installed for free. All you have to do is mail your ScanGauge II to them with some info below and they will flash and send it back to you for free. (Mine only cost $3 to send to them via first class mail with tracking.)

    Who can do this? The info being transmitted is different among the various vehicles and years among all of the Toyotas. The XGauges for the 4Runner will be different than for the Prius and even different within ranges of years of the Prius. It will matter what year and type your vehicle is so read on carefully.

    As of today they have working code for any Prius from 2006 - 2015. If you drive one of these and have a ScanGauge II you qualify. Regarding 2016 - 2017 Prius and Prius Primes, Toyota changed the TPMS reporting method so James is working on code for that right now. He has my ScanGauge and I can report how it works on the 2016-2017 if you want to wait for confirmation before sending yours in about a week.

    Note: During the test phase, this is USA only.

    If you meet the requirements above and want to send yours in, here's how.

    You will need . . .
    1.address label
    2. separate note inside the package
    3. ScanGauge II (only, no cable)

    Mail label:

    Linear Logic
    Attn: James DeLong - Toyota Prius Tire Pressure
    2222 S. Dobson Road
    Suite 800
    Mesa, AZ 85202

    Include a note inside the package with:

    1. Attn: James DeLong - Toyota Prius Tire Pressure
    2. You full name and return shipping address
    3. Specify you want to test the TPMS sensor data for the PRIUS
    4. Tell them WHAT year and type of Prius yours is.
    5. If like me you will use it between more than one Toyota, specify which ones and years they are. Example, I'm testing a 2017 Prime, 2014 4Runner, and a 2014 Camry Hybrid. Each of these 3 require different XGauges to read each TPMS.

    You'll get your unit back about 1 week after they receive it.

    Again, this is a test, so there might be a small problem, but nobody has reported one yet. These guys are good. I'm impressed they're doing this for us.

    I'm glad I read my 4Runner forum posts yesterday so I could get all of you included. (grin)

    Other than owning a ScanGauge II, I have no affiliation with Linear Logic.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    TPMS1.jpg

    Here's what you will see after the update. There are 4 XGauges 1-4.

    To quote James "the XGauges will allow you to view the data for tire ID's 1 - 4. What tires correspond to what ID's may be random. Some people may find Tire ID 1 is reporting data from their right rear tire, while others may find it's their left front tire. That's just an assumption on my part, but I think it's a safe assumption. The TPMS registration process allows you to map any TPMS sensor ID to any Tire ID, thus any tire could be represented by any of the Tire ID's.

    Ultimately to figure it out you'd just have to air out a tire then check to see which tire ID had a drop in pressure. If you let some air out of your front driver side wheel, and you see the pressure for Tire ID 2 drop, then you'd know Tire ID 2 is your front driver side tire. Once you figure them out you'd be able to then go back and change the XGauge Name to something like FLP (Front Left Pressure) to make it easier to know what a specific tire's pressure is
    ."

    Obviously this will change when you rotate tires.

    I know of many here that wanted to go past the idiot light method of a low tire notification. Here's your chance and I hope this helps you.
     
    #1 Mark57, Oct 25, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2017
  2. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    15,130
    6,886
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Are they only working on Toyota's?
     
  3. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    At this time, yes. You can ask at [email protected]
     
  4. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    40,158
    28,702
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I appreciate the energy that went into this. On the other hand, I'm fine with a single warning light, it's trivial to run around the four corners with a pressure gauge.

    Also, I wouldn't want to tie up a scangauge with this. Also, about two years back, my scangauge was apparently the source of sporadic "check hybrid system" warnings, coupled with fail-safe mode brake behavior and warnings, so sadly, I mothballed it for the most part.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced, WilDavis and Mark57 like this.
  5. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Thanks and I hear you. I never had any SGII issues in my 2010 but I had an oddity recently in my 2014 4Runner so back in July I sent it in to upgrade the firmware to v4.42. That fixed it.

    I have had situation where I needed to monitor a slow leak. This will make that much easier.
     
  6. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    10,859
    3,346
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I could do it as I do not use the ScanGauge much so it would give me a another use for it.
    But what does Mendel mean about tie it up? Still works like a regular ScanGauge, right?

     
  7. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    40,158
    28,702
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I wouldn't want to tie up four gauges, that's all she wrote.
     
    WilDavis likes this.
  8. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Still functions like a normal gauge. Nothing says you have to stare at those 4 gauges all the time.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  9. Fester

    Fester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    186
    180
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Just sent an email to service to ask about this, as both my ScanGauges should now be there for an update to 4.42 from 4.12 (that I was using with my Gen II, that I just traded for the 2017 Prius 2. Many of the 3rd party TPMS add ons already seem to have this feature. I'll see what he says.
     
    Mark57 likes this.
  10. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,729
    7,327
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Does that mean you have filled the X-gauge memory with other display choices, so don't have four more available spaces?
     
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    40,158
    28,702
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring

    I'm not sure what the memory limit is, was just thinking the only way I'd do that (devote 4 gauges to tire pressures) is with a second ScanGuage, to avoid the hassle of switching gauges. I like to always see coolant temp, instant and accumulating liters/100 km, and the fourth I juggled between several: battery temp, AC watts, etcetera.

    Again, my ScanGuage is relegated to very occasional hook up to check for codes, was causing problems when always hooked up, a loose OBD connection or something.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced likes this.
  12. WilDavis

    WilDavis Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    2,430
    2,080
    49
    Location:
    Top RH Corner of RH Coast on L side of The Pond
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I currently use two SG-IIs set up as follows:

    Upper: ICE(RPM) ICE(degF)
    AuxBat(V) ICE(HP)
    Lower: TracBat(Soc) TracBat(+/-cur)
    Inst(MPG) IAvg(MPG)

    I have some extra gauges set up in the lower (csd, TracBatV) which I can select as needed, but fiddling around with the settings as I'm driving is a Bad Idea, and so I think to do what the original poster suggests would require at least one more SG-II… …er where will this madness end? o_O
     
  13. WilDavis

    WilDavis Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    2,430
    2,080
    49
    Location:
    Top RH Corner of RH Coast on L side of The Pond
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    25 per head. They can be cycled through each of the 4 positions. Some of the gauges are in the standard set-up (RPM(ICE), ICE(Temp), AVG(mpg) etc.)
     
  14. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,729
    7,327
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I also have a normally displayed set on mine, and cycle through others just occasionally. My X-gauge colection is probably nearly full, but there are some never-used ones in there that could use cleaning out.

    I've never had the OBDII device problems you experience, but did suffer a series of spurious TPMS alerts this summer, and am curious about which sensor is causing the problem. This is on my second particular tire/wheel/TPMS set, only half the age of the car and OEM set, so shouldn't be suffering battery expiration problems yet. I'm hoping this update would help track it down.
     
    #14 fuzzy1, Oct 26, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
    Mark57 and Mendel Leisk like this.
  15. 5 Speed

    5 Speed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    74
    81
    0
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    So when they have it all figured out will we all be able to update our scan gauge ourselves or will we need to send it it? I really would like this option but don't want to be without it for two weeks if possible.
     
  16. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    You must send it in to be updated. It requires a firmware flash and extra code. If you don't take advantage of this test offer, you'll have to pay to get these features later when it's in production mode.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced and Mendel Leisk like this.
  17. Fester

    Fester Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    186
    180
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Did email them today and my two ScanGauges have been updated and are on the way back. They did say they'll keep trying to discover the codes for the the Gen 4 Prius, so check back later.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced and Mark57 like this.
  18. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Yes, James is working on them right now. He has mine now and I'll test for 2016-2017's and report here as soon as I get it back.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced likes this.
  19. wjtracy

    wjtracy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    10,859
    3,346
    1
    Location:
    Northern VA (NoVA)
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Do we need to ask for firmware update too or is that part of the process? Just used a padded envelope?
     
    Mark57 and Mendel Leisk like this.
  20. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,766
    2,410
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Padded envelop and you must include the items I listed in the first post.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You will need . . .
    1.address label
    2. separate note inside the package
    3. ScanGauge II (only, no cable)

    Mail label:

    Linear Logic
    Attn: James DeLong - Toyota Prius Tire Pressure
    2222 S. Dobson Road
    Suite 800
    Mesa, AZ 85202

    Include a note inside the package with:

    1. Attn: James DeLong - Toyota Prius Tire Pressure
    2. You full name and return shipping address
    3. Specify you want to test the TPMS sensor data for the PRIUS
    4. Tell them WHAT year and type of Prius yours is.
    5. If like me you will use it between more than one Toyota, specify which ones and years they are. Example, I'm testing a 2017 Prime, 2014 4Runner, and a 2014 Camry Hybrid. Each of these 3 require different XGauges to read each TPMS.

    You'll get your unit back about 1 week after they receive it.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Attn ScanGauge Owners
  1. Eric "v"
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    4,471