Attn: ScanGauge II Owners! Individual tire TPMS data!

Discussion in 'Prius OBDII Third-Party Apps' started by Mark57, Oct 25, 2017.

  1. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk 'Orrible Oracle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    37,588
    26,356
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Or use a hair dryer or something on the tire?
     
  2. Linear Logic

    Linear Logic Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    14
    38
    0
    Location:
    Mesa
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi Everyone,

    Mark57 suggested I post here to help answer any questions there might be about the latest firmware that supports individual tire TPMS data.

    We're still offering to update ScanGauges to this latest firmware for free until the end of the year. Just send your ScanGauge to:

    Linear Logic LLC
    ATTN: James DeLong (Prius TPMS)
    2222 S. Dobson Rd
    STE 800
    Mesa, AZ 85202

    Include a note indicating you need the TPMS XGauge update and what year/model of Prius you have. We'll update the unit and pre-load all the TPMS XGauges, then ship it back ASAP. I try to have units update and on their way back the day they arrive.

    For anyone outside the United States that would like this update, feel free to reach out to me directly here. I'll see what I can do about updating your units as free as possible.

    If there are any other questions, feel free to ask.

    James DeLong
    Linear Logic LLC
     
  3. royrose

    royrose Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    871
    507
    4
    Location:
    Foot of Pikes Peak
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    James,

    I was traveling for much of December and just found this thread. If I send my ScanguageII will you still do the upgrade?

    Mine is an oldie but goodie, version 3.16. I have a 2010 Prius.
     
  4. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,602
    2,152
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    You didn't quote his message so he may not see your question. Perhaps this will help. @Linear Logic See above question.
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  5. royrose

    royrose Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    871
    507
    4
    Location:
    Foot of Pikes Peak
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Well, I emailed Linear Logic and they did agree to update my Scanguage firmware for free. Thanks James!

    The gauges are working well and made me aware of something that I haven't thought about in the 8 1/2 years that I have owned my Prius: the tire pressure in the spare tire. It was very low and now is up to the pressure that it should be.

    Great product and customer support.
     
    Mark57 and Prodigyplace like this.
  6. royrose

    royrose Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    871
    507
    4
    Location:
    Foot of Pikes Peak
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Final update: my spare tire did indeed have almost no air in it and now is fully inflated.

    The Scanguage, however, still shows no reading for it so the spare either has no TPMS sensor or it is not working.

    Still very happy with the Scanguage.
     
  7. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,091
    6,618
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I don't remember hearing of any Prius having TPMS on the spare.
     
    Mark57 and xliderider like this.
  8. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,602
    2,152
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Toyota does not put TPMS sensors in the spare tires that come with the car as sold new. I'm not aware of any Toyota vehicle that is sold with 5 TPMS sensors.
     
  9. Dudley1030

    Dudley1030 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    200
    138
    6
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Will new Scan Gauge II's purchased now have the updated firmware to include the pressure and temperature readings? I'll probably purchase it from Advance Auto or Auto Zone, unless you have a better suggestion.
     
  10. royrose

    royrose Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    871
    507
    4
    Location:
    Foot of Pikes Peak
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I'm guessing then that Linear Logic included the 5th Xguage for those that wish to add a sensor to their spare.

    I don't think that a new Scanguage will have the update because the update is still in beta testing. You can ask by sending a message through their web site. They are very responsive.
     
  11. spiderman

    spiderman wretched

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    7,506
    1,516
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Just saw this thread. I will interested when they can program the TPMS. :)
     
  12. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,091
    6,618
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It is very unlikely that the supply chain will be able to pull new inventory through the entire selling channel this quickly.
    I'm guessing that LL included it because some vehicles out there support it. I am completely unaware of any hints that the Prius is one of the models that supports registration of a 5th sensor.

    Merely adding a sensor to the spare, is not sufficient for the car or the ScanGauge to recognize and report it.
     
  13. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,311
    915
    68
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I set an undocumented parameter that controls 4 vs 5 TPMS sensors to 5. I installed a sensor in the spare, and used Techstream to register all 5 sensors. That was all about 10 years ago, so the details are not something I recall at the moment.

    It will take a while to find it, but it's somewhere here on PriusChat. Since Techstream didn't support sending the request, I had to develop a custom program (that I no longer have). My guess is that the latest Scanguage would be capable of sending the command.

    Several top of the line Toyota vehicles have a switch in the glove compartment to select one of two sets of TPMS sensors. The switch probably just grounds one connection on the ECU. Identifying which one might be possible by comparing the Prius ECU to an ECU from a vehicle that has the switch. Since I don't live in snow country, I never pursued it any further.
     
  14. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,311
    915
    68
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Here's the link to my notes on TPMS protocol used for Gen2. Note that there are also queries available for battery condition and warning pressure.

    See entry #15 in OBDII codes | PriusChat
     
  15. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    10,669
    10,166
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If you click on the #15 you can copy a URL that goes directly to the entry.
     
    RobH likes this.
  16. Alvin Huang

    Alvin Huang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    22
    7
    0
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I forgot to mention my car is Prius Prime 2017 when I ordered an upgraded board.
    Can you send me the Prius Prime relative Xguage code to enter them in?
    Thanks!
     
  17. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,602
    2,152
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Hi Alvin. I don't have them, but I believe this page will have them.
     
  18. randomwalk101

    randomwalk101 DYI'er

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    530
    252
    0
    Location:
    texas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Any monitor out there is a little better looking? Scangauge looks so 1970s.
     
    Dudley1030 likes this.
  19. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,091
    6,618
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Pretty much all the competitors are better looking.
     
  20. randomwalk101

    randomwalk101 DYI'er

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    530
    252
    0
    Location:
    texas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    What are they?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Attn ScanGauge Owners
  1. Eric "v"
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    4,422