1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Autel Maxi AP200 - go buy this

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by mr_guy_mann, May 1, 2022.

1. mr_guy_mann

mr_guy_mann Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I have been fixing cars for 32 years. All that time I have been using various scantools and have seen quite a few changes as technology continues "better - faster - cheaper". At one point I had a PC based aftermarket scantool. It was decent as far as function and coverage, but the setup and UI was a bit clunky. When the company developed a version for PDA (and later pocket PC), I thought "great- a scantool that could fit in my pocket!". The reality was that both function and coverage were not very good in comparison- and development stopped as the PDA/pPC fad passed.

So I continued using "normal" PC, handheld, and tablet based scantools. When I got my 06 Corolla, I found a basic scan app and adapter to check basic codes and data - kept it in the glovebox. Now I have a 06 Prius, and well, I HAD to step up my scantool game as there is more to keep track of on an old hybrid.

I never quite forgot the desire to "have it all" in a pocket sized format. So I got a number of apps and wrote about them. (they're like Pokemon- gotta collect them all!). And well, a couple apps were neat and did some stuff, but overall most did very little, and/or took some fiddling to do anything.

That was until another forum member had a post that included a screen capture- "is that freeze frame?"

I went and bought the Autel Maxi AP200. OHH. EMM. GOODNESS. I am in loooove.

I have used Autel's Maxisys tablet for years- it is a great tool that has outstanding coverage and function for the price (data recording and management kinda stinks, but ehh).