1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

B under the D in the Drive gears?

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by Boojoo007, Nov 10, 2012.

1. Boojoo007

Boojoo007 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    What does the B stand for and what does it do Under the D- Drive gear? I have not been able to find this in the manual.

Sorry if this is a dumb question!

Thanks,

2. megaoptimus

megaoptimus Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    The B is "regenerative braking mode" meaning when the car costs and it also engages a mild charge without having to apply the brake pads. I'm a PC noob, so please elaborate if somebody else knows more than I.

3. JMD

JMD 2012 Prius 4 Solar Roof

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Low gear, used to slow the car down in a steep decline in the road. It also charges the battery.

4. Rob.au

Rob.au Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    i-Tech
    Stands for Braking mode and operates in the same way as it does on other Prii so there's a fair bit out there both on PriusChat and beyond. I find this one quite extensive:

http://techno-fandom.org/~hobbit/cars/b-mode.html

As far as I know the manual only has a one line mention of "Position for engine braking".

The vast majority of the time you shouldn't use it. Most people generally summarise it as best used on long descents where you know you are going to fill your HV battery charge as far as it will go (with 8 of 8 bars showing on the display). It's technically not full at this point but the Prius won't charge it any higher.

It mimics low gear on a regular car - but read the link above for a fuller description of what's going on.