Bad fuel pump or electrical issue?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by 3Prii, Jun 14, 2020.

  1. 3Prii

    3Prii Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Was driving and plugged in my phone to the charger in my Prius and heard a loud pop. All the warning light came on and the car slowed to a stop. Had a mechanic come by and check the codes and got P3193 (fuel ran out) and P3190 (engine failed to start). I have half a tank of gas so that’s definitely not the issue. Mechanic said there is no fuel pressure and that I need a new pump and tank assembly. I’m just concerned about the loud pop and there’s something electrical going on instead. He checked the fuses and swapped the fuel pump cassette and found nothing wrong with those.
     
  2. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,229
    3,883
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Was the pop from the front under the hood, or towards the rear of the vehicle?
    The fuel pump is located inside the gas tank, does this sound correct?

    Here is the workup for DTC P3190 and P3193 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/repair%20manual/04pruisr/05/2054m/cip3190a.pdf
     
    #2 SFO, Jun 14, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2020
  3. 3Prii

    3Prii Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
  4. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,377
    2,674
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'd be suspicious of an error code pointing to the fuel pump... There's issues with standard automotive code readers mis-reading the error code because they aren't programmed for specifc Prius codes and subcodes. Dr. Prius App via an obd2 bluettoth reader is the way to go: Hybrid battery diagnostic and repair tool for Toyota and Lexus

    You said you plugged your phone into a charger? Was that charger plugged into cigarette lighter? If that circuit is still functional I"d be focused on an aging 12v battery being the source of your problem.
     
  5. 3Prii

    3Prii Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
    He used Techstream to read the codes so I’m hoping there’s no issue with mis-reading. Also, the 12v was replaced in March and the voltage was 12.3.
     
  6. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,377
    2,674
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    12.3v is a bad battery! Hope you have a warranty... I'm willing to bet the battery you bought is an Optima. They have zero quality control...
     
  7. 3Prii

    3Prii Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Sorry I should have clarified, 12.3 with the car powered off 14.4 with it on and it’s an OEM battery.
     
  8. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,229
    3,883
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Does the vehicle still run?

    Have you inspected or cleaned the butterfly valve which is located in the throttle body, use a toothbrush dipped in vodka or rubbing alcohol.

    Since you already have the most current DTCs recorded, start going step by step with the above work up.

    If there is a step you cannot perform, just skip and go to the next, you might notice that something is off.
     
    PriusCamper and Raytheeagle like this.
  9. 3Prii

    3Prii Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Tyler, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Ok we figured out the problem! The car was actually out of gas despite showing half a tank...time to recalibrate the fuel gauge.
     
    SFO likes this.
Loading...