1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

BATTERY ICON SHOWS THREE LINES ONLY

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by kalum, Sep 24, 2014.

1. kalum

kalum Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    A week ago I brought used 2013 prius done 1500km only. I notice my hybrid battery indicator indicates maximum three bars only most of the time only two bars and when I press ev mode it does not work says low battery. in econ mode in status monitor it shows it runs in ev mode some times. when I asked seller he says it is normal it wont get fully charge but when I watch you tube about prius I notice battery icon is full I am new to hybrid pls tel me why my battery will not get fully charge

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Try taking it down a steep, long hill, the longer the better, if possible. If it does not show higher state of charge, that is troubling.

3. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    It normally runs about 2/3 full indicated. It will only get full indicated on a long downhill or if "force charged". Note that "full" indicated means about 80% charge. This is to ensure it never overcharges a cell in the battery. "Empty" indicated means about 30% charge. It will never fully charge nor fully discharge the battery, as doing that can damage the battery. The system will take care of the battery, you don't need to worry about its state of charge.

Note also that if "full" indicated the system will try to drain it down to about 2/3. Just drive it around and you will see the charge level rise and fall.
    Using EV mode is inefficient so try to limit how much you do once it allows you to.

The Prius is a gasoline powered car which uses the electric portion to ensure most efficient use of the gasoline engine.