1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Battery life and rejuvenation

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Frank.S, Dec 26, 2017.

1. Frank.S

Frank.S New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am new to the Prius. I purchased a used 2006 and I've noticed that the battery bar is usually 3-4 bars. It has dropped as low as 1 bar while I was driving and climbed as high as 5--never more. Obviously I'd like to ensure that the HV battery lasts for as long as possible. What are your thoughts on battery reconditioning? There may be others available, but the one that I've seen is the Prolong system on hybridautomotive. Their Deluxe Reconditioning Package lists a pair of devices, a charge/rebalance unit and a discharge unit that takes the battery to 0.1V/cell before a final charge.

1. Is this dangerous?
    2. Has anyone used this (or a similar device) to maintain their battery?

2. IMkenNY

IMkenNY Im just being nosy

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Jmack111, RCO and jerrymildred like this.
  3. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Welcome
    @Raytheeagle has used the deluxe package. There are many others in that linked thread too.
    Jeff from Hybrid Automotive is here too as @jeff652
    Since I have tagged those users they may respond here too.

RCO and Raytheeagle like this.
  4. Dxta

Dxta Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Asides using the hybrid automotive chargers, you could also use other hobby chargers to recondition your battery pack.

Dxta

chronon and Old Wrench It like this.
  5. Raytheeagle

Raytheeagle Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Welcome to Prius Chat (y).

We have a 2010 Prius II now with 170 k miles and going strong:).

How many miles on Your Prius ?