1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

battery not holding the charge .

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Zed 143, Aug 20, 2015.

1. Zed 143

Zed 143 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hello everyone
    I'm new to this page n new to new to this technology. I bought 2008 t spirit prius . The battery drains in coupe of miles. I don't know what to check . Please of anymore can help me tht would be really appreciated. Thanks

2. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Does it drive properly? Any lights come on? What happens?

3. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Moved from the Prius v forum to the Gen II forums as the OP owns a Gen II.

4. andrewclaus

andrewclaus Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Is this the original battery and how many miles on it?

I have to drive up a hill when I start in the morning and my healthy battery is often drained in just few minutes, less than a mile, and this is normal. On my way home, I gain charge, of course. There are many variables to consider, including road grade, wind, engine temp, air temp (is the AC/heat on?), other electrical loads, vehicle speed, the way you drive, the phase of the moon and how you part your hair.

The Prius does not have a very large battery--it only weighs about 80 pounds including case, ECU, venting, etc. It's not a Tesla. And if it's the original battery, it may not be holding a charge like it did when it was new--this is also normal. If you want to continue to drive a used Prius, it would be smart to budget for replacement/repair. Many of us have done that. Lots of threads on it!

5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base