1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Battery terminal replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by abador, Nov 13, 2019.

1. abador

abador New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Every so often my Prius goes dead. The first time this happened I called roadside assistance and they simply moved the cable leading to the 12 volt battery then the car started. Ever since then I simply move the positive terminal connection and it seems to fix the problem. I have tried to tighten the connection in the past but it was as tight as it would go. My assumption is that the terminal simply needs to be replaced because it does move pretty freely when I move the cable leading to the positive terminal. I am fairly new to the wonderful world of Prius but it seems like I am learning about it quickly. If I am not mistaken the terminals on a standard 12 volt battery are bigger than the terminals on a Prius 12 volt battery. Is there a good place that I can make certain that I am buying the right terminal connector?

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!

"The "JIS" type is similar to the SAE but smaller, once again positive is larger than negative but both are smaller than their SAE counterparts. Most older Japanese cars were fitted with JIS terminals."

Battery terminal - Wikipedia

edthefox5 likes this.
  3. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    @abador

Welcome to the neighborhood.

Send me your info via PM. I will send you an entire Gen 2 (+) terminal post clamp assembly, so all you'll need to do is unplug the 2 cables, remove your old one and install the new one, then plug the cables back in.

SFO likes this.
  4. dolj

dolj Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A