1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Battery vent (?) and low battery charge?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by susieeQT, Jun 21, 2016.

1. susieeQT

susieeQT New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So, I'm new to all of this and I don't speak car so please bear with me! I own a 2005 Prius with about 145,000 miles on it. I love it. However, I've noticed that lately, the vent in the back by the window will come on and make a lot of noise. Some research has told me that this is the air vent for the battery that is in the back, and usually comes on when the temps are higher and the battery is starting to get a little overheated.

It got up into the 90's here today, and I noticed that the vent would come on a lot. Even after I'd leave the car off for a short time, not long enough for the inside to get very hot, it would still do it. I then noticed that my hybrid battery charge was below halfway, which I'd never seen before. I stopped the car and left it in the shade for a couple of hours, and after I came back the battery was still low. It's my understanding that it's supposed to charge when the car is off or stopped.

Can someone please explain to me what might be going on, or if the two could be related? I don't know much about the hybrid batteries, and I feel like I'm missing a lot. Should I be concerned at all?

My car has been doing the vent thing a lot over the past few days.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! your car is fine, and all that is normal. you might hear the cooling fan anytime, but especially as the weather gets warmer.
    the battery can run anywhere from 8 green bars, down to 2 purple bars, when the engine will come on to charge it.
    it does not charge when the car is off. you're all good, all the best!(y)

susieeQT likes this.
  3. S Keith

S Keith Senior Member