1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Beginner here. Restoring all clips, removing rust, deep cleaning a 2011 Prius w/83K miles

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Erin and the pets, Nov 15, 2021.

1. Erin and the pets

Erin and the pets New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It all started when my gas tank got a few tiny holes and I paid a mechanic $100 just to show me a picture of my gas tank and tell me it'll be $1000 to replace the whole thing.

I started researching car sh*t for the first time ever and temporarily fixed it for $7 with QUICKSTEEL. Then I took the backseats out and started building it into a camper.

But it started leaking again, even worse, a month later, so I took the whole damn thing out and soldered it and stuck it back in and it was extremely satisfying to do. Now I'm a greasemonkey trying to restore my 2011 to look brand-new and I aspire to take it to antique car shows in 50 years.

I was horrified to see all the rust and debris under my car, and I discovered ChrisFix amongst all this, so I've gone down this path of stripping my car to free it of all the rust and dirt that I can and fix problems before they start. I'm kinda creating problems that didn't exist, though. I'm sure you all can relate...

I've lost track of which bolts go where and some random plastic pieces, like this portion from the cowl. I love the puzzle piecing but sometimes I just want to cheat, you know?

There's another (fender? bumper?) piece I forgot to grab a picture of before writing this. And the clips holding the fuel filler tube shield located in the left rear well. Shouldn't have broken that clip.