1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

best combo of options for used gen 2

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by jimmybucher, Feb 22, 2012.

1. jimmybucher

jimmybucher Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello everyone,
    My name is jimmy and it looks as though I will be joining your ranks as a prius owner within the next 6 months. I currently drive a Mazda Miata and its great but pregnant wife means family car. I love driving a small car and the MPG so prius seems to be the perfect fit. I am a Auto Technican by trade but mainly work on german and british cars (the most unreliable). Soooo Any advice of what I should be looking for on a Gen 2 used that an owner might shy away from telling me. Im thinking Black or white. any reason why not? is the navigation worth paying for? i have an iphone that works great and a garmin.
    Im in the 10,000 price range and currently got my eyes set on 2007's and appreciate any advice you folks can give me.
    I will be reading all the other posts to educate myself as well.
    Cheers, Jimmy

2. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'd save money where you can and just get a basic model but make damned sure if has front and rear airbags as well as side curtain airbags. Those are the most important options IMO.

The Nav and JBL system is not great. You could easily install and aftermarket unit under the factory stereo for better value, performance, and many more options like USB, iPod, Bluetooth etc. or you can remove the factory stereo and do a full double DIN nab/DVD system.

1 person likes this.
  3. cnschult

cnschult Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A