1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Best way to mod 12v terminals?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ryguy, Oct 14, 2021.

1. ryguy

ryguy Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I purchased a deep cycle 35AH AGM motorcycle battery that has flag posts on it. Obviously the prius uses JIS connectors. Now, keep in mind, I am NOT mechanically inclined WHATSOEVER, I am HORRIBLE with tools. It doesn't matter how many youtube videos I watch, it is just something I am not good at. With that in mind, what would be the easiest way to make this connection work? Would it work to drill through the JIS connectors and put my screw/bolt through that hole and through the hole on the flag post?

2. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Now, keep in mind, I am NOT mechanically inclined WHATSOEVER, I am HORRIBLE with tools. It doesn't matter how many youtube videos I watch, it is just something I am not good at. With that in mind, what would be the easiest way to make this connection work?

Acknowledging this is half the battle for you. I just question, with this knowledge you have, why would you buy a non-direct fit battery that requires more than just simple installation? Now you're looking at jerry rigging the 12v connections. Although simple, the 12v connections are some of the most important connections in the vehicle.

That being said, and assuming that perhaps this was the only option for you, take a look at some postings by @PriusCamper . I believe he has used batteries with a similar type top connector.

Another, Mendel Leisk and xliderider like this.
  3. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Not sure what you mean by "flag posts?" Can you share a link to what your terminals look like?