Beware Dorman Hybrid Battery Replacements use 1st gen cells!!!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by cShaps, Mar 31, 2020.

  1. cShaps

    cShaps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    10
    2
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Battery was manufactured 5/17 and failed recently. I pulled the battery from the vehicle and noticed lots of rust and corrosion. I opened the cover to discover Dorman used 1st generation cells in the 2004-2009 prius battery replacement. Most cells were leaking and definitely unusable. I am currently on chat with Dorman who refuses to take responsibility and accused me of voiding the warranty by discovering their mistake. Updates to follow
     
    R-P likes this.
  2. cShaps

    cShaps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    10
    2
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Pictures of battery
     

    Attached Files:

  3. cShaps

    cShaps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    10
    2
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Transcript from Dorman Tech support stating that Dorman knowingly uses Gen 1.5 cells in the 2nd generation rebuilds and if customers have problems with that to take it up with NAPA auto parts.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cShaps

    cShaps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    10
    2
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    3B00B906-51DB-4CD8-B971-49E731B3A486.jpeg DFE8661F-4B9C-417E-8C9B-5BF864921401.jpeg AB67607B-5628-4355-AED9-6E82E8354805.jpeg A076145C-6D0B-43D8-86C2-4A9EBD5247F0.jpeg More pics
     
  5. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    4,344
    2,324
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I think you are p155ing in the wind, quite honestly. You are not telling us anything new of which we are not already intimately aware here on PC. I think Dorman use whatever modules they have available in their pool of used modules, so could be any generation. They don't seem to care to use new modules that are less than 5 years old.

    Dorman makes no secret of what they do, but trying to get people coming into the battery replacement dilemma to not use a rebuilt battery is equally frustrating. For some reason, a lot of people just resist taking this advice. I think people see words like remanufactured and rebuilt and think that there is some magic rejuvenation of the modules, when in fact, all they are doing is recycling old (but not yet completely failed) modules.

    You got 3 years out of a Dorman second-hand battery, so you really should see yourself as fortunate to have got such a good run.

    You are incorrect in your assertion that a Gen 1.5 module has 25% less capacity (in your discussion with Dorman). When new they are rated at the same 6.5 Ah capacity, just like the newer generations. The manufacturing process of the newer gen modules is better so they have lower IR, as an example of one improvement.

    You need to chalk it all up to experience and move on.

    You could replace all the modules with a newpriusbattries.com set of new replacement modules ($1600 delivered) or shop around Toyota dealers for a good price ($1650 - $1785 plus taxes) and do your own rebuild. It sounds like you have the ability to D|Y.
     
    #5 dolj, Apr 1, 2020
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2020
  6. dubit

    dubit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    801
    506
    23
    Location:
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I'm curious as to why you thought it pertinent to tear the battery apart yourself. I don't think I would give you any refund either. Like was said earlier - consider yourself lucky it didn't fail earlier. Those second hand batteries - people never listen.
     
  7. KhaPhoRa

    KhaPhoRa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    168
    37
    0
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Do gen 1 cells even have a way to attach a temp sensor on the bottom? That would be another issue if they moved them to the top. While it might not seem like a big deal, the intake air coming in from the top would cause the readings to be low, which in turn would mean the computer wouldn’t reduce current when the actual cell temperature gets too high.
     
Loading...