1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Blind Spot behind interior mirror on windshield

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by mugurk, Mar 21, 2014.

1. mugurk

mugurk Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    In my 2010 Prius,My wife and I and another friend have noticed a blind spot behind the mirror on the windshield, such that I don't "see" drivers approaching from the right on a "4-way" intersection. I am a cautious driver, yet noticed several years ago that I occasionally started up across an intersection before the car on my right....I didn't SEE THEM. This is because the mirror is mounted relatively low. I am only 6'1'' but my wife who is 5"10 also noticed this problem. In San Francisco, going down a hill, it is often hard to see a car approaching from the right.
    HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM? I am going to the dealer for something else and will ask that my mirror be remounted.

2. twittel

twittel Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I am 6'2" and I have the same problem. To help minimize the blind spot, the mirror mount/stalk raises up or down slightly. Try adjusting it. The stalk moves hard, so be firm but yet not too much force you pull it off the windshield. There might be another thread about this issue.

3. MarcSmith

MarcSmith Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    My HHR was worse the Prius.

I have the seat lowered as much as I can, (i'm 5-10) and the problem is not as noticeable. with the mirror pushed up as high as it will go.

All Cars with low rooflines have similar problems. The key is whether or not you can get the drivers seat low enough so you look below the mirror.

In regards to moving the mirror higher The problem is that it seems you can never get the mirror mount off when you need to.

4. 1Prius4u2NV

1Prius4u2NV New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three