1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Blower motor intermittent

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by respun01, Jan 16, 2021.

1. respun01

respun01 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I’m having an intermittent blower fan problem. I pulled the fan and kept it connected, and of course I couldn’t get it to stall outside the dash.

I’m pretty sure it’s the fan, but I just wanted an outside opinion. I’m not sure but I think the fan should spin a bit more freely than this. (I’ll link a video)

I should add, it did start when I nudged it when it was stalled in the dash.

#1 respun01, Jan 16, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
  2. pasadena_commut

pasadena_commut Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have no experience with that specific blower but compared to others that one has too much internal friction. Typically blowers/fans will spin for quite a while before stopping. If there is a gap between the bottom of the white plastic part and the motor section check that it isn't jammed up with hair or dust. Ditto if you can see into the motor on the other side (which probably is not the case, the bottoms are usually sealed). That's a long shot, most likely the bearings are worn or the lubrication in the motor has evaporated or gummed up. If there is no dirt try to find a bottle of turbine oil (Ace used to carry it) and lubricate it with that. Doing that will usually make a fan or turbine work for a while, maybe even a year. However I have never seen that approach keep a blower/fan limping along for longer than that, and it worked best when the blower/fan was on 100% of the time, as in computer fans.