1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Blurry backup camera image on 2007 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by mainepriusx2, Jun 30, 2017.

1. mainepriusx2

mainepriusx2 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a newbie here, so hopefully this hasn't been asked too many times.

The backup camera has been getting more and more blurry over the years. After taking a macro photo of both, I see that the camera lens is scratched...which of course would do it.

What is the best way to buff the lens clean so that I get good resolution on my monitor?

Thanks,
    Ted

Attached Files:

2. jerrymildred

jerrymildred Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yikes! I didn't know they were soft enough for that. They are so small that it's hard to experiment with a small area to make sure your polish doesn't make it worse. But, if it was mine, I think I'd try some headlight restoration polish in as small an edge spot as possible and go from there.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    toothpaste?

4. mainepriusx2

mainepriusx2 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks Jerry.

Well, I don't know if the camera lens is the same material as the headlight covers (which are hazy now), but your suggestion to use headlight polish is good. I've been putting off (aka, procrastinating) restoring the headlights, but I think that's in the cards very soon. And while I have everything out, I'll give the camera lens a try as well.