1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Brake actuator is going out.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by caverluna, Nov 12, 2019.

1. caverluna

caverluna New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello!

This is my first time posting on here so I apologize for the long post. I have a 2010 Prius and have had many issues with it. In the last year the engine, the hybrid battery, and regular 12V have been replaced. Now the mechanic ( not a certified Toyota mechanic) said that the actuator is going out. The car is making a horrible sound when the brake is pressed and making a buzzing sound when the car is off. I am trying not spend any more money on this car because I'm over it but I'm wondering if the warranty would still cover it? I know the brake booster has an extended warranty but I don't think it's the same thing as the brake actuator. Here are my current options:
    Sell the car as is and make the problem someone else's (even though I feel this is evil.)
    Try and have the husband fix it, and risk him fully breaking it and making it not worth anything.
    Take it to Toyota, spend $125 to get it diagnosed (essentially throw the money away, and see if it is covered by Toyota)
    Any advice would be great!

2. tankyuong

tankyuong Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    II
    Drive it til it dies

caverluna likes this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    What's the miles on it, and date of first purchase from dealership? Up here in Canada there's a Warranty Enhancement Program (August 2018, SOLH-W31-1A). There's VERY likely a similar program in the States? The Brake Booster is covered for replacement, for either of the following:

1. 240,000 kms
    2. 10 years from date of first use.