1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Brake fluid Consumption

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by kronos89, Oct 24, 2013.

1. kronos89

kronos89 CHRRYPRL

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
    This morning, when checking the oil in my car, i noticed the brake fluid was about half way full.
    Before doing the 5k mile service, i had noticed it wasn't full. I told the dealer to make sure they top it off, and they did. Now at 12k the reservoir is half way again. I am not an expert on cars, but rarely brake fluid should go down. I wonder if this has to do with other issues people here in the forum are having with chatter when going thru small bumps in the road. I also have that issue, but never really paid interest until now.

2. Les_PL

Les_PL Active Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I think the brake pads wear down.

toyotechwv likes this.
  3. SageBrush

SageBrush Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Unusual, no doubt.
    I don't think the brake fluid level has changed in 10 years in our '04 Prius.

I suggest first convincing yourself that the reservoir cap is on snug; and if that is not it then time for you or a mechanic to find the leak.

kronos89 likes this.
  4. Paul R. Haller

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    As the pads wear the fluid goes down to fill the calipers. Fluid going down a little is normal... going down a lot is not. If you think its abnormal drop first check all your calipers for obvious leaks. Take off the front wheels and do a visual inspection. No leaks should be visible. I think what you are experiencing is normal pad wear and the regular fluid drop. Do a visual inspection to be sure. Prius have great pad wear because of the regen braking. On my 2nd gen I have almost 126,000 mile on my original pads. they still have about 1/2 their life left!