1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Brake light/ABS warning after replacing caliper and pads

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by tomellis, Nov 4, 2016.

1. tomellis

tomellis Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yesterday I did the front brakes on my 2005 Prius. Had to replace one caliper, did pads on both sides. After finishing I found that the both the Brake warning light and ABS warning lights are on.

I had bled the brakes (right side only) right after replacing the caliper; I lost very little fluid and line was off for no more than 2 minutes so I can't believe any bubbles could have worked their way upstream to the master cylinder. Reservoir never got even close to empty.

What have I missed? I have been working on cars for years, and never had an issue with brake systems after a pad replacement. But this is my first time doing the Prius brakes so maybe I missed something obvious.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. Joseph MK2

Joseph MK2 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    tomellis, what was the eventual fix? I now find myself in the same unfortunate situation! :(

3. exstudent

exstudent Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    You need to get Techstream to bleed the brakes. Techstream will open/close the appropriate valves in the brake system so you can bleed the brakes.
    upload_2019-6-9_18-22-45.png

Techstream is the OFFICIAL diagnostic and maintenance software made for Toyota/Lexus, and used at Toyota/Lexus dealerships. Bluetooth OBD2 readers and all the various apps for smartphones/tablets are junk: LIMITED code reading ability (can't read ALL codes) and can NOT do any maintenance (bleed brakes, engine compression check, activate CHRS pump, etc). Why waste money on a toy that limits what you can read and can't do maintenance?