1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Braking issue

Discussion in 'Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Obxmush, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Obxmush

Obxmush Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey all. Second hand question. My mom has a c-3, today while she was out, pulled out of a parking lot at slow speed, went to stop at the traffic light and all she hear was a 'grinding' noise and had no brakes. Luckily she has thinking ability and used the parking brake to stop. She pulled off when able but then the brakes were fine. Any issues that anyone has noted before? I'm a gen III driver.

2. yogipaolo

yogipaolo Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    That's really weird. I'd go to the dealer immediately, but there are some possibilities. But here are some questions to narrow down some possibilities. Was the car parked for an extended period (a month or more)? Could she tell where the grinding came from - front or rear? Was the pedal mushy? Did the pedal depress? Did she feel pulsing in the pedal?

Sometimes people mistake antilock brake pulsing with grinding. If she felt a pulsing pedal, it may be an antilock system issue. Also, the C has drum brakes in the rear. If something was not installed correctly at the factory OR somehow the drum brakes were not adjusted properly, they may somehow be binding.

These of course are wild guesses off the top of my brainpan without being there and not being able to look at the vehicle. I hope she gets the car in to the dealer soon. A major safety issue may be involved.

3. ray6088

ray6088 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Well, it happened to me twice when I drove 25-30mph and slowly increased the brake(almost full bar to the left HSI). My gen III slipped forwarded for 2-4 feet then brake pads engaged! I'll let dealer check on 5k maintenance

4. Obxmush

Obxmush Member

Vehicle: