1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Braking/stopping in 2012 Prius C One

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by kpskw823, Jun 24, 2019.

1. kpskw823

kpskw823 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    I just got a Prius and it's starting to feel like a steep learning curve to drive it.

I am a somewhat nervous driver so there is one "issue" I'm having that's particularly disconcerting. I've noticed that when I'm slowing to a stop, the car gets extremely close to stopping but doesn't seem like it's going to stop unless/until I do a hard brake at the end. I definitely give myself lots of time to stop due to a bad wreck I had 14 years ago (yeah, I know, I should be over it by now) so I'm kind of concerned that this is just something I have to start doing. Given that the brakes are very sensitive, even hard stopping from a very slow roll results in a halt/jolt feeling.

I'm also not seeing an automatic lights option, does that not exist for my model/year?

Any advice? Is this just a me problem?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

how many miles her?

prius brakes switch from region to friction around 6mph, so it is something you have to get used to.

that being said, it might be worth having a qualified shop look things over for peace of mind.

plug your vin into the toyota owners website. it should provide the options on your car

all the best!(y)

Mendel Leisk likes this.
  3. kpskw823

kpskw823 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    Thank you! I really appreciate it.

I'm not a knowledgeable car person so I'm not sure what you mean by "region".

4. Lovec1990

Lovec1990 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A