1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Buying A Used Prius

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by thisisrichard, Aug 11, 2009.

1. thisisrichard

thisisrichard New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi Everyone!

My previous car (a 4Runner) was totaled, unfortunately, so I'm in the market for a Prius. I'm looking to buy used and was wondering if anyone had any advice on anything, like year, model, etc. My current specs I'm looking for are:

2006-2008
    <40k miles
    $22,000

I hear that buying a used Prius outside of the original manufacturer's warranty can be troublesome because of the repair costs in the future. Something having to do with the technology and the cost to fix it is higher than a normal car. Is there any truth to that?

Any difference between certified used and used?

What about buying from a private seller?

As you can see, I'm a total newbie to this! Please help! I am excited, however, to be the owner of a Prius.

Thank you!

2. eaglesight333

eaglesight333 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I would recomment lowering your price value. You could almost get a 2010 II for 22,000. I would blue book the value of an 06-08 to see what you should be paying for one.

3. HeyVern

HeyVern New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Yes, eaglesight333 is right, lower the price you are willing to pay. Craigslist shows a 2008 with only 1000 miles $15,900 (private seller) in Charlotte, NC. You should be able to find similar deals in your area. Private seller will almost always be $2,000 -$3,000 less.

4. Muhahahahaz

Muhahahahaz Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I was able to get a certified used, fully loaded (all options, incl navi and leather) 2007 Prius with 35k miles for just $20k, so your specs are definitely doable. ;)