1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Buying Advice needed

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by kortheo, Jul 6, 2020.

1. kortheo

kortheo Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey priuschat,

This is my first post here. I am in the market for a used Prius. I've settled on the 2017 model, probably trim Two. I did a test drive at a dealership recently and really liked it.

This is my first time shopping for a car on my own so I want to make sure I'm covering all of my bases. My budget is $20k with some wiggle room. I'm looking for some guidance on the buying process to make sure I'm not missing anything. I'm a risk averse person, and with used cars there seems to be a lot of risk that needs to be avoided, so trying to make sure I do that...

Here's my current plan:
    1. Find the used model I want online somewhere with the right year/trim. I'm looking for something relatively new, but just trying to avoid the initial depreciation hit. (Carmax seems to have good prices, compared to dealerships... is there anything wrong with going through Carmax?)

2. I'm looking at cars with low mileage, like 20-40k miles, but I don't really know what is 'low' or 'high' or a good deal. How should I think about mileage when making a purchasing decision?

3. Checking the Carfax report (and maybe also Autocheck report if one something I'm serious about). I'm looking for no accidents or any bad title branding, any other obvious red flags, and ideally single owner / lease vehicle. Also looking that it was manufacturered after April 2017 so that I'm getting the 2017.5 version.

4. Verify that all recall work has been performed using online tools.