1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Buying used Prius V for first vehicle

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by AshleyTPriusv, Oct 2, 2015.

1. AshleyTPriusv

AshleyTPriusv Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi there,

I'm new to this whole Prius talk thing. I'm looking to buy my Prius v by April of 2016 so I'm hoping I will be able to get loads of information before then. my bought would be $16,000- $25,000 all inclusive.

1) I want to own the Prius v for 10 years (is that possible? Will they last that long?)
    2) I'm looking at putting max 15,000 km a year so 150,000km over 10 years (how many km Is too much on a used Prius v if I want it to go for 10 years and 150,000km?)
    3) I would love to get the panoramic roof (test drove a used one with it and it was amazing) so what model would I be looking at getting? Luxury or technology?
    4) should I get extended warranty or do you think it's pointless since it is a really reliable vehicle?
    5) I live in Atlantic Canada so the winters are sometimes extremely rough, will the Prius hold up okay?
    6) what year should I get 2012? 2013? Or 2014? (I'm not looking at buying a new Prius v)
    7) since there is little maitainence to do on Prius do you think it's possible for a family mechanic or even myself to change a belt or 12v battery? (if not, should I go get the work done at the dealership or just a regular car mechanic shop)
    8) will the Prius in the long run (10 years) save me money?
    9) will the Prius v hold 3 convertible (rear facing or forward facing) car seats in the back comfortably? (The leg room and reclining and moving features to the back seats is amazing)
    10) how does the technology of the car hold up over time? (Touch screen, speedometer, MPG display, navigation)
    11) softex seats vs cloth seats?