1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can a weak 12v battery cause this much trouble?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Hx214, Oct 8, 2018.

1. Hx214

Hx214 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Good Morning,

I'm new around here. I'm a hobbyist mechanic and my hobby is to buy older cars, fix them, drive them for awhile and pass them on or just keep driving them. New to hybrids so sorry if some of my terms aren't correct.

I have a friend that had a 2005 Prius for work, he calls me up one day on the road and said it just doesn't want to accelerate. I asked him what he saw on the dash and he said nothing..... He got it home and said he would look at it later. I dropped of my OBD scanner for him and about two weeks later he calls me and says he now has a red triangle with an exclamation point and the OBD throws a code that says "Replace Hybrid Battery"

So..... he parks the car and says he is done with it (227,500 miles). Asks me to scrap it for him. I told him I'd take it off his hands for scrap price. I always wanted to learn more about the hybrid systems, so cheap education right?

So I go over a week ago to check on the car. I wanted to make sure it would at least start and run to get it home (I only live 4 miles away) It turns on and starts up the ICE right away, hybrid battery on the screen shows one bar with no movement when I drive around the block. Very slow acceleration, but enough to get me home when I'm ready for it. I park the car, and tell him I'll be back that weekend to get it.