1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can i save my 07 pruis?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by AJ200, Jan 14, 2017.

1. AJ200

AJ200 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi guys

I'm a newbie not very technical either so please advise me.

I own 2007 Pruis that has done 335540 miles!

I believe it used to be a taxi at some stage of it's life. The guy who sold it to me (1 month ago) be said he just wanted to upgrade he wasn't a taxi driver.

I know i probably shouldn't have got such a used car but i really wanted a pruis with my limited budget.. anyway enough with the rambling.

Here are the challenges so far

My first drive home everything was fine no lights no nothing. When i came back to drive again car there were 3 lights on dashboard (chech engine,triangle, and circle with ! Inside it)and the car would hardly move it sounded horrible.Also the HV battery came on at full blast. I managed to find a obdii scanner and got p3000 and p0420.

I did some research ended up changing the spark plugs which were really bad.

I cleared the codes the po420 which is the emissions or something came back the p3000 is gone.

2) scanned again yesterday day with my own obdii 2 scanner which is a cheap one used with the Torque app. I got P0A80- hybrid battery failed i didn't get PO420.

The HV battery charges quickly when I'm driving and loses charge just as quickly. When the HV Battery is charging car has some power so it's ok to drive around but when it is Fully chargrd car struggles as its only running on petrol motor? There is no arrow flowing to the electric motor when the battery is fully charged. The fan is always on.

I decided to open the battery up and see how bad the battery was all cells but three were 7.99 volts the other 3 cells were 6.68v (middle) and two 7.5v (on either end)

The previous owner said the battery has never been replaced.