1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can Prius prime charge at Tesla charging station?

Discussion in 'Prime Plug-in Charging' started by Deepblue, Aug 12, 2017.

1. Deepblue

Deepblue New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm new to this plug in cars. So please help.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    no, tesla has proprietary evse, i'm not sure if they allow others to charge anyway, even if they have some L-2 chargers.

RCO likes this.
  3. JimN

JimN Let the games begin!

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    If you don't have a Tesla connector you can't plug into a supercharger or a destination charger.

RCO likes this.
  4. ivanbg

ivanbg Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  5. Dennis_MA

Dennis_MA Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    I think the problem is. Even if you have an adapter you need an account/card to unlock the charger.

TGrracie and GKL like this.
  6. GKL

GKL Active Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    For those who are brand new to plug-ins there are web sites that show the location of charging stations in your area, just put in your zip code and zoom out to see more.

There are filters to narrow down your selection like to just show ones that have the type of plug your car needs to be able to plug into, for example, the Prius Prime uses the J-1772 plug.

When you click on an individual charging station it should give more details as to if it is free, if it is open 24/7 or just business hours, ect., for example when I clicked on one charging station roughly about 10 miles from me it had a comments section that said "Open to general public at no cost." and also "Open 24/7 - 24 hours per day, 7 days per week".

PlugShare - Find Electric Vehicle Charging Locations Near You