CAN-View Software Updates

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by efusco, Feb 9, 2006.

  1. hdrygas

    hdrygas New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    3,650
    6
    0
    Location:
    Olympia Wa
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mrbigh @ Aug 3 2006, 08:21 PM) [snapback]297477[/snapback]</div>
    That is exactly how I get "surprised" after my vacations! I have to say that after further thoughts there is a wider discrepancy between the Toyota MPG and the CAN View. The CAN View is running lower, at a time when the Toyota average tank miles are going up. I am having a hard time figuring it out. I guess I could sacrifice and reset the consumption screen each time and directly compare each trip. Not quite ready to go that far.
     
  2. Frank Hudon

    Frank Hudon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    4,147
    11
    0
    remember that the toyota readout is for time not milage. What most of us want isn't anything to do with CAN-view it's with that puny little screen that Toyota supplied us with. Not enough realestate to have every thing displayed.
     
  3. tomdeimos

    tomdeimos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    995
    2
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, MA
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(hdrygas @ Aug 4 2006, 09:44 PM) [snapback]298035[/snapback]</div>
    I do reset for each trip, and sometimes partial trips. Canview reads consistently too high mpg during warm up, at low speed and with lots of stealth. I see up to 10 mpg too high.

    On highway at speed it reads more consistent and about 2 mpg low, which is really 1 mpg error, since my Toyota reads high.

    The low speed error is more variable and is sometimes 3 mpg sometimes 10.

    Full trips sometimes come out right on within 1/2 mpg due to the high readings and low ones cancelling just right.

    Heavy ac use affects the errors too, I assume from the greater engine loading.

    When I check instantaneous readouts they seem to match well, but hard to tell with the screen switching delay and no really flat roads.
     
  4. eflier

    eflier Silver Business Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    164
    5
    0
    Location:
    Fraser Valley BC
    Back at last...
    I've read comments both here and in emails and tried to accomodate some changes. Posted as SCaug236.hex and SVaug236.hex.
    1) That little cycle button on the bottom left now cycles just between the 2 text pages when you are on text.
    2) It now cycles between Trips, EV parameters and MPG when you are on those. (So no separate MPG button)
    3) CLEAR on either Trips or MPG clears both screens, to avoid the confusion separate clears caused.
    4) ICE % on is now available as a user selection on the text screens.
    5) The throttle bar is now available on the MPG screen
    6) On the text screens, if you select throttle for the bottom line item, you will get the throttle bar instead.
    7) The difference between maximum 'now' and maximum 'average' has now been fixed: both now read 255mpg

    I have not yet resolved the issue where CAN-view MPG differs from MFD MPG for short or very careful driving. But I do have a clue now to follow up. I noticed that when the engine just runs for a very short time (pulse and glide?) the CAN packet shows the fuel flow cutting off a fe wseconds before the engine actually stops. On a long trip this is negligible but for short bursts it may mean I am recording less fuel flow than is actually happening.
    Needs further investigation. Not even sure if its consistent at this point. Any thoughts?
     
  5. jkusnetz

    jkusnetz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    55
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(eflier @ Aug 23 2006, 08:53 PM) [snapback]308565[/snapback]</div>
    Excellent, Thank you Santa Norm! :)

    I really do like the changes!

    One thing that just came to me that I think would be useful to me, not sure if anyone else would like this. Maybe an option to do an auto-cycle? So if you turn this option on the screens will auto-cycle between themselves. So if you were on the graphic screens it would cycle between those, if you were on the text screen it would cycle between those, and if you were on the Trip screen it would cycle between those. Maybe have an option to where you can choose how fast the screens would cycle, 5 sec, 10 sec, 15, sec, 30 sec, 60 sec.

    What do you guys think? For me it would let me see everything I want to see without having to reach over and start navigating the UI.
     
  6. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,886
    1,157
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I wouldn't use the auto cycle, more than likely, unless I could cycle just b/w two text pages. But if it were an option I can see how someone would use it.
     
  7. tomdeimos

    tomdeimos New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    995
    2
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, MA
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(jkusnetz @ Aug 24 2006, 04:45 PM) [snapback]308995[/snapback]</div>
    Great idea. But to go a tiny bit further, I'd like to set each screen to participate or not and if in set it's own duration. So I could cycle a graphics screen and 2 text say, with one on for a minute or two and the others cycling on for 10 seconds maybe. Then I could put things like temperatures on a shorter duration screen, and cycle just the ones I wanted.
     
  8. jkusnetz

    jkusnetz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    55
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(jkusnetz @ Aug 24 2006, 04:45 PM) [snapback]308995[/snapback]</div>
    While I'm being Mr. idea man here are some more thoughts on what I'd like to see.

    While I like the new throttle-SOC-amp graphs at the bottom, I do miss seeing the marks on the old throttle graph showing you where the ICE would kick in, I was able to use that to figure out just how much throttle to give before losing EV/Stealth mode. Could that be put back in?

    I like seeing the electric/amp output graph on the other side too, but it would be nice to be able to see that graph go the other direction for charging. So instead of coming from the left to the right have it start in the middle (well 3/4 across) and have it go right towards the end of the screen for amps out, and left towards the SOC% for charge. Just more realtime visualization using the same screen realestate.

    More more thing that would be nice in the MPG screen is an auto-fit scale. A scale that just uses the minimum scale for the highest MPG in the graph, so say the highest bar was 54 mpg, it would choose the 64 mpg scale, but then you got one graph going to 90mpg it would switch to the 128mpg scale.

    Okay, that's it for now.. See what happens when you give us more toys? We just want more! :)
     
  9. hdrygas

    hdrygas New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    3,650
    6
    0
    Location:
    Olympia Wa
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(eflier @ Aug 23 2006, 05:53 PM) [snapback]308565[/snapback]</div>
    This may require me turning off the "tunes" and listing to the car again. I will turn them off. You may be right on both the turn off and the turn on parts! I may be a bit more in tune with the turn for the on ICE, but it may be before the CAN-View detects it. There has to be a bit of lag over the bus?
     
  10. hdrygas

    hdrygas New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    3,650
    6
    0
    Location:
    Olympia Wa
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I installed the new software and I think it is better. Easier to navigate around and more intuitive. Good work! BTW if anyone is interested Costal E Tech's Blue Lockpick is totally compatable with CAN-View it is a nice implimentation, takes away the I agree when you go to the map, but takes a single touch to the screen to do the unlock Nav. I like that. I think the privious one did the whole dance all the time. I like having the option. The Bluetooth disable goes on in a simular way then shuts itself off. Very nice. Install is easy if you have the central speaker.
     
  11. McShemp

    McShemp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    371
    4
    0
    Location:
    SA, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I went through this thread and didn't see anything on the 2006 version needing the 7" screen. I checked the CAN-view web site for info but found nothing new. I seem to remember a thread stating that this version might not happen. Does anyone know what's going on with a 2006-compatible version of CAN-view?
     
  12. eflier

    eflier Silver Business Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    164
    5
    0
    Location:
    Fraser Valley BC
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(McShemp @ Sep 1 2006, 09:30 AM) [snapback]312791[/snapback]</div>
    Just to clarify matters: at present I am still de-bugging a prototype CAN-view that uses a stand-alone 7" LCD VGA touch screen. As the extreme niche market for Prius displays is almost saturated, it is aimed instead at the plug-in conversion market (if that ever materialises) and so is designed such that the hardware should be able to plug into any hybrid that uses the CAN bus with only vehicle specific software changes. Such as any Prius 2004 onwards, the Camry hybrid, Lexus 400H, Highlander, Ford Escape.

    Doing a version which integrates with the original in-car MFD would be ideal but is totally impractical in the amount of individual model reverse engineering needed for the tiny end market.

    It also eliminates any of the hard-to-get custom cables and so simplifies installation.

    Taking this approach may not be acceptable if you only want to observe your car's hybrid operation. But, inconvenient or not, it will at least be possible.

    I am still struggling with the USB interface needed for the touch screen, but I hope to have a production-ready version in about 2 months. Cost will be less than the current CAN-view, but you will also have to buy (from any number of sources) the VM7000 LCD (Mine costs US$215 from minibox.com)
     
  13. McShemp

    McShemp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    371
    4
    0
    Location:
    SA, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Thanks for the update.
     
  14. jkusnetz

    jkusnetz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    55
    0
    0
    One of the PriusChatter's Ichabod started this post a couple of weeks ago: Demo of PSD

    It got me thinking that it would be really cool to have the CAN-view feed his flash real time data.

    Well I got to work and with a lot of help from Ichabod I finally have something to show:

    Live PSD!

    The movie is low res and bouncy and blury, but it will give you an idea of what's possible.

    Basically I've taken my perl script which reads in the CAN-view serial out for doing touch screen for FrontRow, and added the ability for the Flash to talk to the perl script to pull out ICE and MG2 RPM live!

    I think this is just really a first step on making some really nice visual screens for CAN-view data. Now that I have the basic process working, I can feed in all the CAN-data (using the formated serial out now) to display all sorts of stuff. Flash give me a nice platform agnostic GUI to use so this can work under Mac, Windows, Linux..

    Once I've cleaned up my code, and Ichabod feels he is ready to show his code we will put it all online!
     
  15. hdrygas

    hdrygas New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    3,650
    6
    0
    Location:
    Olympia Wa
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I have to say that, what you did is interesting, very interesting! It would be a real learning experience to have a real time PSD for a while. Nice very nice.
     
  16. ScottY

    ScottY New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    1,250
    6
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Question, ICE % on is time base or mileage base?
     
  17. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,886
    1,157
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(ScottY @ Sep 25 2006, 10:35 AM) [snapback]324682[/snapback]</div>
    Time.
     
  18. ScottY

    ScottY New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    1,250
    6
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(efusco @ Sep 25 2006, 11:45 AM) [snapback]324686[/snapback]</div>
    Time as in

    (time ICE on)/(time CAN-View on) x 100%

    or

    (time ICE on)/(time Prius in READY) x 100%?

    Can-view can be on when the Prius is in acc or ign-on mode.
     
  19. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,886
    1,157
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Suspect total time CAN-View is on, but I don't know....gotta defer to Norm.
     
  20. ScottY

    ScottY New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    1,250
    6
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Ok thanks Doc.

    I suspect is total time CAN-View is on too. Right now, it's showing % ICE on is 50%. My commute is 50% high way (ICE always on) and 50% local (ICE on sometimes). So total ICE on % should be more than 50%. On Sunday, I had the car on ACC mode while waiting for some one. That might contribute to the low % ICE on reading.
     
Loading...