Can't connect to ECU

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Itsmeonprius, Mar 5, 2020.

  1. Itsmeonprius

    Itsmeonprius Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    119
    55
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Well my Gen1 packed in yesterday. I had to coast to a halt on the motorway. No warning triangles, just no power. 12V is okay as I can turn everything on but no HV battery power.
    Theres a smell around about the inverter, like a PCB burnt smell so I'm suspecting the inverter.
    Got the TIS plugged in and can't connect to the ECU.
    Hmmm.
    Any thoughts?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  2. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,039
    15,103
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Have you been able to connect to the ECU before with the J2534 protocol setup you are using now, or is this the first time you are trying?

    What version of Windows is your lap top?

    What version of Techstream?

    Trying to work process of elimination;).

    Good luck and keep us posted(y).
     
    mroberds likes this.
  3. Itsmeonprius

    Itsmeonprius Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    119
    55
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Yeah I've used the same laptop with the same lead before. It's always worked. I'm not suspecting the laptop/lead as being a problem.

    I've been searching the web all day and it could be a fuse has blown so the ECU wont communicate. I'm hoping to get time tomorrow to take a look with a few suggestions I've found.

    It could also be the inverter pump that's caused this so that and the fuses will be my first look. Then dig deeper into the inverter.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    mroberds and WHCSC like this.
  4. Priuslover09

    Priuslover09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    365
    46
    0
    Location:
    Dc
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    It’s a bad ecu port or connection it needs to be replaced.
     
  5. Itsmeonprius

    Itsmeonprius Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    119
    55
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Hmmm. I dont think it's the port or ECU connection as this is too coincidental with the 'whatever the fault is' that the car has.

    Nice suggestion though.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  6. Itsmeonprius

    Itsmeonprius Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    119
    55
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Just had some time to take a look. Pump out and it stinks of the lovely burnt smell. And the AM2 15A fuse is blown on overload.
    So I've ordered a new pump for a gen2.

    Hopefully that's it sorted once its replaced.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    mroberds and Raytheeagle like this.
  7. mroberds

    mroberds Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    101
    38
    0
    Location:
    .
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The OBD-II connector under the dash (Toyota calls that connector Data Link Connector 3, or DLC3) has 12 volts and ground on it. The 12 volts comes from its very own fuse, labelled OBD-II, 7.5 A, in the fuse box in the end of the dashboard. Some scan tools need that 12 V to work. It sounds like you have other things going on as well, but it's a simple thing to check.

    The 12 volts is on pin 16, which is at the very end of the row closest to the shorter side of the D shape. Which end is a good question; if I am interpreting the factory manual correctly, if you orient the connector like an English capital letter D, it'd be at the top end. But if it's not there, try the other end too. Ground is on both pins 4 and 5, which are the middle two of the eight in the row closest to the long side of the D shape. (So, it doesn't matter which end you count from for the grounds.)
     
  8. Itsmeonprius

    Itsmeonprius Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    119
    55
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    So the AM2 fuse blew because if the inverter pump. I've changed it for a gen2 pump and replaced the fuse. Car has covered another 500 miles no problem! Result.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
Loading...