1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can't get above 35mpg- something wrong?

Discussion in 'Prius v Fuel Economy' started by rabadia, Apr 16, 2012.

1. rabadia

rabadia New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    N/A
    I have a Prius v, level V with tech package, factory tires, one month old with ~500 miles on it. I, for the life of me, cannot get my car to average above 35 mpg! We live in a hilly area of Portland, OR, but I have been driving my Honda Civic Hybrid for 8 years and consistently get 39-40mpg. I am very aware of acceleration/coasting/etc. while I drive and notoriously do not have a lead foot.

Is the Prius just worse on hills?

I keep trying the Eco/Normal/Power modes to see if any of them do better on hills. Anyone else find that one is more fuel efficient on hills?

Could something else be wrong??

I am really bummed about the mileage. Everything else I LOVE about this car.

Thanks for any advice!
    Robin

2. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Your HCH didn't have 17" wheels nor have to push so much weight up hills. :) Your HCH should have been getting 45+mpg so if you were getting about 5mpg less than I would say you are in the ballpark for the v Five given your driving conditions.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    spot on.^ 'nuff said.

4. anewhouse

anewhouse Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three