Can't seem to get program to work with USB connector

Discussion in 'PriiDash (TM)' started by primuspaul, Jun 15, 2014.

  1. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I have a laptop with Win XP on it. I downloaded priidash and ran the priidash3mfd.exe program. It did not work so I followed some additional steps.

    1. I uninstalled the existing driver I had on the COM port where the ELM device was connected through USB.
    2. I used Windows driver auto install to install a driver for that. Looks like COM4.
    3. I used the baud setting tool to set the baud rate to 500000, the max the device seems to handle. I then tested it like the forum post said by sending some commands to it at 500000. Got legible responses.
    4. I closed that baud setter and ran the priidash executable.
    5. In the second text box, I put \\.\COM4 and then 500k.

    When I press GO, it just toggles from green to red, then to green again if I click it again. Gauges do not populate.

    I know the ELM works because I could connect to the Prius with another program to clear a code.
     
  2. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,703
    484
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Could you go to the command window (it opens automatically when you run priidash3mfd.exe) and see what messages are there?
     
  3. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I used to have a problem due to the OBD directory not existing on the drive. Creating it solved that issue. But now, fuel still 999, no usable info, no gauges. Now I get this:
     

    Attached Files:

    • prii.GIF
      prii.GIF
      File size:
      16.1 KB
      Views:
      731
  4. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,703
    484
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Are you saying that with an older version of PriiDash software and same hardware at 500K baud rate, you were able to run in Normal Mode?

    From the screenshot it looks like somehow data is not read correctly. Could you attach one of the logyyyymmdd_hhmmss.txt files?
     
  5. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    144
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Please post a pic of the ELM adapter that you are using, and verify that the internal bus from the USB chip to the OBD2 can run at 500kbaud.
    The STN Term program at Scantool.net can help

    ScanTool.net, LLC - Downloads

    CAUTION is advised if you set it s high speed when it cannot run at that speed, you could BRICK the device, NVRAM reset could restore functionality at a low speed tho.
    w.
     
  6. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I could connect to the Prius and to others cars using a different program, one which unfortunately is not prius-specific. I will try to get the other info.
     
  7. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Most recent log attached. ELM device looks like: New ELM327 OBDII OBD II OBD2 USB Interface V1 5 Auto Diagnostic Scanner | eBay

    Looks like it works at 38400 maximum. What commands do I send to that baud rate setting program that was posted to set it to that?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    144
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The ELM Knock-off that you bought MAY not support higher internal serial bus baud rate.

    Caution is advised here and on the clones I do not know if the NVRAM reset exists.

    The command to set the Scantool Chip to a higher speed is available in the threads.
    The values only apply to the Scantool scanners that use a 16MHz crystal internally.

    In summary then you need to
    load the Scantool Utility,
    execute it
    select the USB port
    select the Baud rate
    hit the ATZ button ---verify that the command is echoed and the ELM version is returned.
    In the command window type
    atpp 0C sv 02 ==send button
    atpp oc on=====send button
    change the program baud rate to 2000000
    hit the ATZ button ---verify that the command is echoed and the ELM version is returned.

    If you get an answer the change has 'taken' but it may not 'stick' on power-cycling.
    If you do not get an answer re-select the 38400 baud rate and check if it still works.

    If it works then you good to go
    If it does not work then the device has been BRICKED.

    Let us know how you make out.
     
  9. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,703
    484
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Baud rate of 38400 is not fast enough to run in the Normal Mode (run type). You can try the query only Mode.

    The log file shows "CAN error" whenever a command is sent to the car. The car was IG-ON or READY, right? Also you said it works with other programs. I am puzzled.

    When you have STNTerm set up for 38400 baud rate, could you send the following command and post the result?

    ATSP6
    ATDPN
    ATL1
    ATH1
    ATCAF0
    ATSH7E0
    020105
    ATSH7E2
    0521C3C442D3
    ATSH7E3
    0421d0cecf
     
  10. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    It was in the position just before starting, where the CEL lamp comes on.

    ATPP 0C SV 68
    ATPP 0C SV 68
    OK

    >ATPP 0C ON
    ATPP 0C ON
    OK

    >ATZ
    ATZ
    ааьаааьаьаьааATZ
    ATZ


    ELM327 v1.5

    >ATSP6
    ATSP6
    OK
    ATDPN
    ATDPN
    6

    >ATL1
    ATL1
    OK

    >ATH1
    ATH1
    OK

    >ATCAFO
    ATCAFO
    ?

    >ATCAF0
    ATCAF0
    OK

    >ATSH7E0
    ATSH7E0
    OK

    >020105
    020105
    CAN ERROR

    >020105
    020105
    CAN ERROR

    >ATSH7E2
    ATSH7E2
    OK

    >0521C3C442D3
    0521C3C442D3
    CAN ERROR

    >0521C3C442D5
    0521C3C442D5
    CAN ERROR

    >0521C3C442D3
    0521C3C442D3
    CAN ERROR

    >ATSH7E3
    ATSH7E3
    OK

    >0421d0cecf
    0421d0cecf
    CAN ERROR

    >0421docecf
    0421docecf
    ?

    >ATZ
    ATZ


    ELM327 v1.5

    >>

    Yes it connects with another program I had on the XP laptop. And it looks like it still connects and works. The PriiDash program does not get any info from the car. Seems like there is no difference in feedback when it's connected and when it's not connected to the car.

    Do I need a new ELM connector with a higher baud rate? Where to get one?
     
  11. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,703
    484
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    OBDLink SX is a good, relatively low cost option:
    ScanTool.net LLC - OBDLink SX Scan Tool/OBD Interface - ScanTool.net

    I am still puzzled though why the other program works (getting info from the car, right?) but when you use PriiDash or just manually send commands it gives you CAN errors. Could you double check that the other program gives you reasonable values for, say, the coolant temperature (~room temp when car is cold and ~190F after a long trip)?
     
  12. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,703
    484
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Another thought:

    Use STNTerm, just two commands:

    ATZ
    0105

    What do you get?
     
  13. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    144
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A


    The ATMA ( AT command ' Monitor All ) data is coming off the CAN Bus at 500Kbaud and being funneled down the internal bus between the OBD2 interface and the FTDI USB chip at 38400, after the buffer pools are exhausted the backpressure on the CAN Bus must be fierce, probably enough to start causing CAN Bus errors.
    If this continues all the computers could abandon the CAN Bus and the ICE will shut down and the dashboard light-up like a Christmas tree.

    You could PM me as I have a number of pre-production 'Connectors' that I made myself using bought Scantool Chips.
    I could let you have one for FREE otherwise I will have to cannibalize it later for parts.
    You will also need a mini USB-USB-A from your local geekstore if you do not have one already.
     
  14. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I used to have an Isuzu car with which I used the OBD connector (and the other program, called Scan XL). The device not only read and cleared the CEL codes reliably (the reason I bought it), but even monitored and recorded data like absolute throttle position, coolant temp, and others, reasonably well as far as I can tell. Even worked and RECORDED (could be viewed later) those parameters so I could let mechanics look at it. They did not spot anything unusual so as far as I can tell the data came from the OBD computer.

    Its functionality with the Prius has been limited. I initially used it to just check for CEL codes before buying the car. It connected, read no codes. I also know for a fact that it can clear codes, even if it cannot read them, from a Prius. However, here is one difference I noticed with the Prius: unlike the Isuzu, which communicated with the device perfectly with electrical systems on AND engine on and running, the Prius disconnected from the device as soon as the car was started. Thus, with the Prius, I can only connect/interact with Scan XL while the car is in the electrical on position. That is, with the windows operable, the check engine light on, etc... As soon as I started the engine and put the car into regular running mode, as in, the mode in which one would drive it, the OBD link disconnected and I could not reconnect. Thus, only really useable for reading stored codes and clearing them.

    Sending 0105 at 38400 gives a CAN ERROR.
     
  15. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,703
    484
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    From what you described the device does not seem to work well at all with your Prius. I tested ccdisce's device before and it worked great. I would encourage you to take his generous offer.
     
  16. primuspaul

    primuspaul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    240
    11
    0
    Location:
    NYC Area
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Yes, I already contacted him using the "Conversation" feature.