Can't switch to aux

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Trevor, May 29, 2010.

  1. Trevor

    Trevor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    352
    8
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just noticed today that I can't switch to Aux in my 2006. I remember using it at some point last week and it has not given me any issues before.

    When I tried to switch to aux this morning I hit the CD/Aux button and heard a CD start, so I hit it again. It did not switch from CD to Aux. So I tried hitting the mode button on the steering wheel. It cycled through every single option except for Aux. I tried to turn the car off and on again and my ability to switch to Aux didn't come back.

    Does anyone have any suggestions on anything I can check before I take it in to the dealer?
     
  2. sktn77a

    sktn77a Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    290
    13
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Did you have a source plugged in to the Aux socket when you were trying to get it to switch?
     
  3. Trevor

    Trevor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    352
    8
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes, I had my iPhone plugged in. The one thing that I didn't check is if my cable got unplugged from the armrest side. For some reason I thought that I used to switch between Aux and CD without an Aux signal which is why I didn't double check my cable.
     
  4. Oneaxepony

    Oneaxepony Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    60
    16
    0
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    The head unit senses whether there is a plug in the aux jack in the console. If the aux jack is empty, it will not engage aux mode. If you have a cable plugged in the aux jack but no audio source (i.e. no iPod, iPhone etc) it should engage aux mode but of course no sound will come out since there is no source. So if you cant get into aux mode, you need to double check you have a cable plugged all the way into the aux jack. Hope this helps.
     
Loading...