1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Car going to be dormant for 52 days

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by bikeboy999, Apr 29, 2014.

1. bikeboy999

bikeboy999 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Hey all,

I will not be using the car for about 7 weeks. It will be spring weather and it will be garaged. I was reading about trickle charger suggestions, taking battery out etc.. Now just because I own a Prius does not mean I know how to connect trickle charger, and to which battery. So do I do nothing? Or purchase a trickle charger? Any suggestions are welcome,

TIA,
    Brian

2. etobia

etobia Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I'm not a pro by any means but I think you can disconnect the small 12 V battery in the back of the car while you're gone.

3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    You might have to trickle charge or jump start the 12 v battery. Since you own a Prius, you should know how to jump start it or at least know the guy doing it is doing it right. So check the owners manual. A trickle charger can hook up at the same places under the hood. Or get a portable jump start battery instead and have it the car just in case.

Portable jump start battery

4. rdgrimes

rdgrimes Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    If you're capable of jumping or disconnecting a battery, you're capable of connecting a charger. Get a decent "battery tender" and follow the instructions.

It's pretty bad for the battery to let it go dead, so this is worth the effort.

5. mikefocke

mikefocke Prius v Three 2012, Avalon 2011

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Limited