1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Car insurance costs?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by busyrosy, Apr 24, 2006.

1. busyrosy

busyrosy New Member

I'm sorry about posting all these questions. I'm a newb car owner, and a newb prius driver (ha!)

I had to get my car insurance rather quickly, and without much research. Right now, I'm paying ~$650/6 mths using Geico. Does that sound about right, or am I getting ripped off? I'm female, in my late 20's.

2. roach52osu

roach52osu New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(busyrosy @ Apr 24 2006, 07:35 PM) [snapback]244554[/snapback]</div>

If you dont mind a few credit inquiries I would call around, I have state max insurance 100/100/300 good driving record and good credit and I am paying about $520/6months if I did not pay in a lump sum it would come out to $620 or so, (same age range as well). It is not easy to compare insurance from one person to another with all the factors involved but as I stated it realy could not hurt to shop around.

3. gippah

gippah New Member

Full coverage for me added $30/mo to my insurance bill, to drive it up to a whopping $70/mo total for both of my cars.

Geico, in spite of its very successful advertising campaign, isn't the cheapest around for most people. When it's time to renew do some shopping around, you may find a better deal.

4. philwojo

philwojo Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    This is a really hard question to compare as already stated, there are a ton of factors involved, not the least of which is that you are female, and right or wrong the insurance companies do use that as a factor.

I am 33, male, very clean driving record, no tickets in the last 10 years, only minor accidents, never filed a claim on my own insurance for them in the last 15 years.