1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cat Converter Theft: Ambiguity about CARB laws in Maryland

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by schnebly5, Jul 21, 2021.

1. schnebly5

schnebly5 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all, I'm a college student and the latest victim of cat converter theft on my 2005 Prius. Unfortunately no comprehensive insurance. I've read advice from people on here to buy an EPA approved catalytic converter for around $150 and have an independent mechanic install it. Something like MAYASAF from Amazon.

Every mechanic I call is quoting me like $800 for an aftermarket part, so I assume when they look up the part it's a CARB-approved one? Not sure why it's so expensive.

I live in Maryland, and it seems like according to Maryland law, all I need is an EPA approved one, however on a different MD website, they say they're one of 13 states to adopt California's "clean car standards". Anyone know if that's the same as CARB? Of course Maryland emissions inspection program is not answering the phone. FWIW, Walker exhaust doesn't list Maryland as a CARB state. (I have links to all these things, but the forum won't let me add links till I've created 4 posts).

As someone who doesn't know much about cars, I'm a little scared to buy some parts myself and have a mechanic install it, but if it's half the price, I need to do that as I can already barely afford this repair. The mechanic who initially looked at it said I needed the cat converter, O2 sensors, and front and back pipes replaced.... Anyone have recommendations for parts?

Thanks so much :( this is the worst.

bisco likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sorry to hear it!