1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Charging etiquette

Discussion in 'Prime Plug-in Charging' started by MNdriver, May 20, 2017.

1. MNdriver

MNdriver Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I'm new to all of this, having owned my car all of one week and charged once. I can't charge at my condo so can only use public facilities.

I want to be a good citizen and relinquish my spot to an EV who needs it more. I just laminated a 4x6 card that I can leave on my windshield allowing others to unplug me if necessary.

My question is how easy it is for them to do this. If I don't lock my cable in, will they be able to disconnect me if my charge isn't complete? The one time I charged was using Chargepoint; I disconnected via the app and confirmed that I wanted to prematurely stop.

I'm going to be at the airport tomorrow; I'd like to charge while there but don't want to take up the slot of a traveler who needs it more.

2. dalcon95

dalcon95 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    If you don't have the cord locked, then the cord can be unplugged at any time.

#1 in Easley,SC

Prius from Dad likes this.
  3. priuscatprimeguy

priuscatprimeguy Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Yes, to the question asked. I have pulled the plug on several Volts, Energi's and was able to successfully charge my car, but I do check to see if they have finished charging.

Prius from Dad and dalcon95 like this.
  4. MNdriver

MNdriver Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Thanks! Hope I'll find a charger free tomorrow to try out my plan.

5. ArcPrime

ArcPrime Active Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium