1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Charging issues ARGGHHH!!

Discussion in 'Prime Plug-in Charging' started by Optoprius Prime, Apr 3, 2022.

1. Optoprius Prime

Optoprius Prime New Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Greetings All, noob here to Priuschat... If you're driving a prius and joining a forum to talk about them then i must be in line with many of yours' thought processes and wavelengths just bought a 2022 Prius Prime and it's by far the most awesome car I've ever had, - I'd wanted one forever, but never liked the way they looked, until Gen4, and because they offer FREE charging at work, so no brainer... So I WAS able to charge at home in my downstairs storage area where I rent. I was simply plugging into a standard outlet form the wall and charging, normally for about 2 months maybe. Then one day it just stopped working. So i moved to a different outlet and it worked for 2 days then stopped. Talked to the landlord and he said a portion of his bedroom above the storage area's electricity was out. I could not figure out why even with an electrician. Nothing fried, no smells. No GFCI tripped, no circuit braker tripped. Still don't know why....Now may landlord's being all weird because he thinks I screwed up his wiring. I will add that he stated he was fine with me using his outlets for charging, but now they don't work, don't know if he's fixing them or not, even if he does he's not gonna let me use them to charge off of NOW....

So Then i tried to run an 50', 10 gauge, extension cord from my upstairs bathroom, (I technically live on the 3rd floor) I also used a GFCI adapter (w/12 gauge cord)> before the extension chord then> into the charger. It worked ... for about half and hour, then GGFCI tripped. So i reset it, fine for 15 mins, then tripped again, Wash, rinse, repeat... i finally gave up and haven't tried again, which is prob a good idea.