1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Clean vs Salvage

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Elana, Jul 31, 2016.

1. Elana

Elana New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a Prius newbie on the hunt for an affordable car, and I've narrowed it down to two. I'd like some advice from some of you well-season Prius owners!

First option (2007)
    Pros: 135k miles, exterior is in mint condition, interior seemed really clean too, battery was recently refurbished, tires in good condition
    Cons: salvage title from a front end collision, man selling it told me he buys salvage cars at auctions and fixes them (is this a red flag?), there was a little sputter when the car idled (but not sure if that is normal), the car looked really clean on the bottom, like it had been recently power washed, so I could not tell if there are leaks or anything.

Option two (2005)
    Pros: clean title, 123k miles, battery replaced
    Cons: there are many dings and scratches on the interior and exterior, the tires will need to be replaced right away, expired registration

The first is $5300, the second $4000 (but ends up being about the same when calculating in new tires an reg); neither of them have maintenance records...

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Do not buy a salvage car, ever in your life, no matter how good of a deal.

Both options are no good, 2005 owners lack of care for their car inside and out will normally mean maintenance was not done or seriously deferred. Nobody let's registration expire unless there's a reason it couldn't be registered

edthefox5 likes this.
  3. dorunron

dorunron Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    If you are going to invest in a Prius, invest your money wisely.