1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

CM gone bad on 08 prius please help

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Jojo9213, Jul 25, 2018.

1. Jojo9213

Jojo9213 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    hello all

I am new to sign up for prius chat however ive been relying on it for info since I bought a 2008 prius about 3 months ago. It has 182K miles about 3 weeks ago my CM went out ive done all the tricks w the 12v battery etc nun of it works anymore. Im poor so i cant pay 500-900 at a toyota dealer to fix it and it is NOT coverd under warrenty i checked. I ran out of gas once ever since ive been ok. Question is will this CM issue effect anything else while driving? I have GPS that tells me my speed. Or could it block out other importent lights that could need attention? My Hybrid battery seems OK. Please help I can not afford to lose my car then my job, house etc. Thank u all

2. Jojo9213

Jojo9213 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hello all i just signed up today i have a 2008 prius 183k miles bought a month ago. My CM went 2 days after i purchased it for 3k ive tried all 12v tricks and called dealer it is not coverd. Ive since been driving but my question is will i be able to see other warnings through the MFD if its serious? For example i ran out of gas once and it showed a red car symbol on my MFD or will it not show at all then i cause more damage? I just dont have the 500+ to fix at the moment but still need to use for daily commute . any help is appreciated thank u all and to all a good day -joe

3. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    maybe find a junk yard with a Prius and remove their screen and put it in yours... It's likely the lowest cost solution and dangerous to drive without it?

4. VFerdman

VFerdman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three