Code P0A0D-350 combined with code C1259 causing hybrid system to shut down and engine not start

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by GreenTea&SaltWater, Jun 10, 2021.

  1. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I posted about this in another thread here: P0A0D-350 High Voltage System Interlock | Page 2 | PriusChat
    So someone in a different Prius forum stated they had a similar issue to mine, hybrid system shut down, engine wouldn’t start, dashboard looked the same. They took it in to get a diagnostic and got a code C1259 about their regenerative breaks not working. They had their car repaired the Intelligent Power Module (IPM) and it was covered under warranty. Am I missing a detail here somewhere that can lead to this being the issue? If I can pinpoint it to the IPM I can have it towed to Toyota have it fixed for free and that’ll be the end of it.
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,656
    42,902
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    isn't there a recall?
     
  3. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Yes there is which is what I’m hoping the issue is cause my car is eligible for the recall 2010 Prius, I called Toyota yesterday.
     
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,656
    42,902
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    if it's a recall, you don't need a code. you just take it in and they do it. then you'll know if that was it, or something else.
     
    Grit likes this.
  5. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    But if it turns out it isn’t the IPM then I have to pay for the towing fee, the $150 diagnostic, and the $3000+ for a new battery or whatever else the issue is
     
    bisco likes this.
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,575
    10,258
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Your P0A0D code is downright specific to the safety interlock circuit. There is no recall or warranty pertaining to that. It's a simple electrical circuit that needs to have the open spot found and fixed.

    You also have C1259, a code from the brake ECU. Did you notice in your other thread, where Azusa was going on about "random" codes and TMR-JWAP asked "do you understand what a C1259 code is?"

    There was a point to TMR's question. The point is, the brake computer always sets C1259 when it knows there is any issue being reported by the hybrid system. That's what it's programmed to do. (So much for "random" codes.) Fix whatever the hybrid system issue is and the C1259 goes away.

    So you see the C1259 is not some sort of extra clue for changing how you would troubleshoot the issue that's being reported.
     
    Grit and GreenTea&SaltWater like this.
  7. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Very informative thanks man.

    edit: lol what a coincidence immediately after i responded i checked out another tab i had open and first thing i read is this comment of yours from 2018:

    "The two trouble codes you have listed are just codes that the brake/skid computer will report, if the computer that controls the hybrid drivetrain reports a problem to it. In other words, they don't really tell you anything on their own, except that the hybrid drive computer has something to tell you.

    Probably those codes were retrieved by a scan tool that is only able to see information from certain computers like the engine and brakes, so it was able to read those codes from the brake computer, but didn't show you any of the hybrid codes that would tell you what's really going on.

    It would be best to plug in a scan tool that can retrieve all the diagnostic info from all the computers in a Prius, and then the situation should become clear.

    That can be done at a Toyota dealer, or by anyone using the Techstream software on a beater laptop; there are lots of threads in the forums here about getting that set up.

    -Chap"
     
  8. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,735
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    how did you get that conclusion from the 2 codes mentioned?
     
  9. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,735
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    how did you get that conclusion from the 2 codes mentioned?
     
  10. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    well last time i had a hybrid issue it was the battery that was bad and they were charging me $3000 to replace it so i replaced the bad modules myself from JWAP. im not saying thats what the issue is this time but i cant afford any repair atm from toyota
     
  11. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,735
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    You should definitely add that info to the original post because so we would know the other issue so it would easier to help troubleshoot
     
    GreenTea&SaltWater likes this.
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,575
    10,258
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Well, in fairness, the untrimmed quote was:

    In this case the "whatever else" most likely involves a piece of wire or switch, so there should be some change left over from that $3000.
     
  13. AzusaPrius

    AzusaPrius Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    885
    423
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Just change the 2-4 weak modules already and get back on the road and be happy.
     
  14. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,575
    10,258
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The current code makes the troubleshooting pretty easy anyway. It's the safety circuit, and I would start by looking around where the earlier work on the battery could have disturbed it.
     
  15. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    the safety plug is plugged in correctly. where can i find a diagram or tutorial on how to check the wiring harness? would i have to lift my car up and get in there or?
     
  16. GreenTea&SaltWater

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    88
    29
    0
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I fixed it I fixed that sonofabitch the orange safety plug connection is loose. I had made sure since the problem first arose that it was on correctly, push it in, lock it, slide to the right. Some wiring inside the plug is loose I was living in the desert out of my Prius for a month it must’ve come loose driving on those bumpy dirt roads. I had to really smack that bitch in there with the palm of my hand and then I heard some sparks. And when I turned it on the smart engine turned on AND the hybrid battery works too the dashboard is all clear no lights on it except the ready light. I feel ecstatic.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  17. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,575
    10,258
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
  18. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,735
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    o_O
     
    GreenTea&SaltWater likes this.
  19. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,575
    10,258
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    There should be a section of the PriusChat Glossary where we all get to make up meanings for the new terms that phone autocorrect keeps inventing for us.
     
    GreenTea&SaltWater likes this.
  20. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,735
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    what about the forum’s word auto substitution? Like “a ss” to “nice person.”

    ex. Mendel is a nice person.
     
Loading...