Cold air Intake? - Not a Joke or Noob question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by Daves09prius, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. 2007blueprius

    2007blueprius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    461
    30
    0
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    they are fragile these dayslooks just like a scratch otherwise
     
  2. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    7,634
    3,316
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Sorry to hear about your car Justdid. You did some very nice fab work on all the stuff. Props to the skills.
     
    Daves09prius likes this.
  3. Daves09prius

    Daves09prius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    680
    158
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I think the whole prius community had a week of mourning because of justdidit's prius. What a shame...:(
     
  4. 2007blueprius

    2007blueprius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    461
    30
    0
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    this is one of the reasons I don't care to tinker too much with a daily driver, you get rims next day you got road rash, it's just one of those things, if you do decide to part it out make sure you post them on here, I do remember you put some thought into lowering it, I don't remember it all but I believe you had it dialed in pretty good, granted the one is done for, but just a thought, I have a plugin kit in mine, was considering lowering the front, instead of beefing up the back.
    so much for those smoked headlight huh? that's what sucks about it, even if you want to fix it, some of this stuff you got to do all over again, can't just buy them ( that should probl be your next used ID ):LOL: .
    if the drivetrain is messed up, might as well start over
     
  5. Sezy

    Sezy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    375
    162
    37
    Location:
    O'Fallon, Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Not sure where to put this question but here goes... When I take the top off the air filter cover there is another kind of filter molded into the top. it's thin and has air vents flowing into the manifold. I wonder if cutting of popping this part out will help with air flow going past the intake or better yet any benefits?

    If it has not been tried I'm willing to take it and for test reasons. Worse case figure I'll glue or plastic weld it back in. Also what about cutting out the ridges in the air box?


    [​IMG]
     
    Daves09prius likes this.
  6. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,073
    665
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I knocked that carbon filter out of my airbox, and my K&N filter promptly gobbed on the MAF sensor. after replacing the MAF sensor, I haven't had any more problems. I actually run 2 re-useable filters; a cone filter under the rh headlight with a homemade CAI which attaches to the airbox. and a K&N in the airbox. I don't think the ridges affect flow at all. if you look down at the throttle plate, you'll see that the opening in the airbox is pretty small. that's the bottle neck on the intake.
     
  7. Sezy

    Sezy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    375
    162
    37
    Location:
    O'Fallon, Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Was there any benefit or gain from removing the carbon filter? I'm hesitant now after you had the MAF issue.
     
  8. wa-chiss

    wa-chiss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    124
    36
    0
    Location:
    Brownwood, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Not only did I remove my "filter" on the top half of the airbox, I cut out the half-moon shaped "wall" on the other side. I kept the ridges underneath the center cross over piece so the air would still have a way to straighten out when it goes over it after the filter. Same for the ridges inside the right half of the lower filter box half that channel the air towards the throttle body. It's because of those ridges on the lower filter half that made me question the half-moon wall's neccesity. Why put the ridges there if you're going to block the airs access to the with a wall? So, I decided to remove the wall. Also, the intake pipe that leads to the white baffle and the "snorkle" was modified. I removed the baffle, and the snorkle. I cut the pipe after the port that connected to the baffle and sealed that end up. Now, the air enters from the fender well where the baffle was and not from in front of the washer fluid reservoir. I've had it like this for about 1,000mi and have no CEL, no pending DTC's, I noticed immediate improvement getting up to speed quicker, and my filter isn't getting dirtier faster (stock paper filter installed). It doesn't rain often here and when it does, it doesn't rain hard or for long enough to worry me about hydro-lock. I'll post pictures later.
     
    Daves09prius and Aaron Vitolins like this.
  9. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,073
    665
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    maybe a little better throttle response. K&N filters tend to be over-oiled, and the MAF doesn't like any gunk or oil on it. of course, the MAF also had 180k on it; maybe it was just due to fail cause of age. no problems after the MAF replacement, but then I sold that car 2 months back. I've got the modified lid and K&N filter setup on my '06 now and it hasn't had any codes yet.
     
  10. Daves09prius

    Daves09prius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    680
    158
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I have a similar set up, where I've modified the baffle (cut the bottom out) and drive regularly through heavy rains, without issue. I've tested it by using a paper filter in the air box, driving threw the rain storms (a good hour or more of driving) and checked the filter when I arrived home - the paper filter was dry and did not show signs of water contamination. I do have my Carbon filter (the filter at the top of the airbox) installed, but I didn't notice any signs of water contamination on that filter either. So Hydro-lock should not be a concern, unless you regularly have to ford streams, or drive through high standing water due to flooding. But at no point do I recommend driving the Prius through high standing water, even with the stock air-intake set up, a foot of water can kill you. So if you or anyone is presented with that situation don't risk it! ;) Turn around and find another route!
     
  11. wa-chiss

    wa-chiss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    124
    36
    0
    Location:
    Brownwood, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here's my filter set-up.

    Top of the air box.
    image.jpg

    The air inlet. The blue thing is sealing the end I cut off with epoxy and one of the screws from the pipe. This is just temporary as I will be making a hose to replace it and possibly to replace the air box as well.
    image.jpg

    You can't see in the 2nd picture really well, but the baffle is gone.
     
  12. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,073
    665
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I did find that there were bits of leaves and trash in the airbox w/ the stock baffle. that's one reason why I used a cone filter under the headlight. but I still have a k&n in the airbox too.
     
  13. Sezy

    Sezy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    375
    162
    37
    Location:
    O'Fallon, Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    #453 Sezy, Aug 26, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2015
  14. Justdidit

    Justdidit LVNPZEV

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    1,878
    704
    75
    Location:
    Carrollton, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Neither of them look to be 2" diameter. Running anything larger thru the MAF will cause a CEL and other issues that you may have read about that I had. My First attempt at a new MAF housing - used a Yaris 2.25" CAI but modified the air flow around the MAF to be 2". Currently I'm running a Custom CNC'd MAF aluminum housing on 2" piping.
     
  15. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,073
    665
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I sure wish a 2" maf housing was available. I'm too cheap to pay for a custom made housing. I've been wanting one ever since I saw yours.
     
    Daves09prius likes this.
  16. Sezy

    Sezy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    375
    162
    37
    Location:
    O'Fallon, Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Daves09prius likes this.
  17. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,073
    665
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    the stock airbox necks down smaller than the throttle blade diameter. if you can find a 2" (55mm) diameter maf housing on another car which uses the same style maf sensor, let me know what it is so I can cut one up too.
     
    SFO and Daves09prius like this.
  18. Justdidit

    Justdidit LVNPZEV

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    1,878
    704
    75
    Location:
    Carrollton, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I looked at hacking up my airbox but it didn't look like i was going to be able to attach the couplers once i did. I never was able to source a 2" MAF housing from another vehicle that took our same style MAF. Which is why i ended having one made.
     
    Sezy and Daves09prius like this.
  19. Sezy

    Sezy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    375
    162
    37
    Location:
    O'Fallon, Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Got some things I'm working on as far as the MAF sensor. Thinking now a intake off an Acura would be better than a yaris then use couplers. Yaris I found to me a 3in diameter but Acura has 2.25 -2.50 range. I don't see the point in using a yaris one if we're cutting the airflow sensor off. For the Acura ones I would have to plug a few holes. Which looks best to be cut up and customized for a Prius CAI?

    Cold Air Intake Kit Red Spiral Look Filter for Acura 94 01 Integra GS LS RS DB | eBay

    [​IMG]

    For 94 01 Acura Integra GSR DC2 Cold Air Intake Aluminum Pipe Round Blue Filter | eBay

    [​IMG]

    1994 2001 Acura Integra GS LS RS 1 8L Cold Air Intake Induction Kit Red Filter | eBay

    [​IMG]
     
  20. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,073
    665
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    justdidit used a 2.25" maf housing and it threw maf codes. the maf housing diameter must be no larger than 2" or it will set the cel.
     
Loading...